Shop    |     Sign In
Skip navigation links
National Academy of Osteopathic Medical Educators
Membership Standards
Membership Expectations
NAOME Application Process
Portfolio Preparation
Application / Selection Timeline
Selection Process
Development of Enduring Educational Materials
Educational Leadership
Educational Research
Organization of the NAOME
Reference Material
NAOME Fellows
NAOME Fellows Personal Statements

National Academy of Osteopathic Medical Educators (NAOME) 

The National Academy of Osteopathic Medical Educators is a community of outstanding educators (termed Fellows) who have met rigorous standards of academic excellence within the last five years.  Membership is earned (and can be renewed) for five-year intervals during which Fellows are asked to mentor and support academic excellence and scholarship in the osteopathic medical education profession. 

NAOME Community (members only)


The purpose of the Society of Osteopathic Medical Educators' (SOME) National Academy of Osteopathic Medical Educators is to:

  1. Foster and value the scholarship of teaching and learning.

  2. Provide role modeling and support for educators in osteopathic medical education programs.

  3. Foster networking and collaboration among institutions of osteopathic medical education by providing a forum for the exchange of ideas about educational endeavors including teaching, evaluation, curriculum design and implementation, faculty development and educational research.

Applications are assessed once a year after the February deadline.  Each candidate's mini-portfolio, including CV and in the required format, should be submitted electronically on the nomination form to AACOM on or before the deadline each year.  Fellows are inducted into the National Academy of Osteopathic Medical Educators at the AACOM Annual Meeting each Spring.


NOTE:  The Society of Osteopathic Medical Educators' working group that created the National Academy of Osteopathic Medical Educators (NAOME) is significantly indebted to educators at Baylor College of Medicine under the leadership of Nancy Searle, EdD, Director, Fulbright & Jaworski Faculty Excellence Award Program, for their development of a faculty academy model which reflects a grounding in the literature regarding educational scholarship and a rigor and transparency in their selection process. 

For the first year of NAOME implementation and selection of members, Baylor's standards and processes were implemented.  The 2009 inaugural NAOME fellows have adapted these materials to more closely reflect the teaching/learning models in osteopathic medical education, including the integration of osteopathic principles and practices.  The mini-portfolio models on this site reflect these adaptations.



© 2008-2014 AACOM. All rights reserved.
5550 Friendship Boulevard, Suite 310, Chevy Chase, MD 20815-7231  P 301.968.4100 F 301.968.4101