Shop    |     Sign In
Skip navigation links
President's Welcome
AACOM Strategic Plan
AACOM Staff and Leadership
Allied Organizations
About Osteopathic Medicine
History of Osteopathic Medicine
Dr. Brian F. Degenhardt, DO Writes About Osteopathic Manipulative Medicine in the 21st Century
The Difference Between U.S.-trained Osteopathic Physicians and Osteopaths Trained Abroad
U.S. Colleges of Osteopathic Medicine
Osteopathic Specialty Colleges

AACOM Staff and Leadership 

For contact information visit the Staff Directory.

AACOM Staff Leadership 

President & Chief Executive Officer

Dr. ShannonStephen C. Shannon, DO, MPH, as President and Chief Executive Officer, directs AACOM and moves the organization towards fulfilling its vision and mission. The work of the President is overseen by AACOM's Governing Council, the Board of Deans.

Brief Bio
Full Bio 

Chief Operating Officer

John E. Roane, Jr., As AACOM's Chief Operating Officer, John E. Roane oversees organization infrastructure to enhance processes and maximize collaboration in partnership with other AACOM senior leaders. John’s work focuses specifically on AACOM’s strategic direction, positioning programmatic efforts to achieve the association’s mission. His management of the AACOMAS, Finance and Technology departments ensures a dynamic platform for the continued development and improvement of association standards.




Lisa M. ColeLisa M. Cole, MBA, as Vice President of Communications and Marketing, leads the development and execution of an integrated communications and marketing strategy that delivers AACOM’s branding, messaging, public relations, and enterprise-wide communications activities.




Tyler Cymet, DO, as Associate VP for Medical Education, Chief of Clinical Education, develops, coordinates and implements AACOM activities related to clinical education, from undergraduate medical education through residency, with an emphasis on clinical faculty development and coordination.



Thomas Levitan
, MEd, as Vice President for Research and Assistant to the President, directs collection and analysis of statistical data regarding the students, applicants, faculty and staff, and other elements of the colleges of osteopathic medicine. This information is provided to the colleges, health policymakers, members of Congress and the general public. He also works on the development of new programs and services offered by AACOM and other special projects.


Luke H. Mortensen, PhD, as Vice President and Chair for Medical Education, works with the colleges to promote excellence in osteopathic medical education throughout the educational continuum. The office also facilitates collaboration, provides services through constituent group activities, and develops resources for osteopathic medical education professionals.



Pamela Murphy, MSW, as Vice President of Government Relations, leads the association’s congressional and federal policy advocacy efforts, works with AACOM’s membership and other associations to present unified health professions positions to policy makers, and monitors legislative and regulatory developments relevant to osteopathic medical education and the osteopathic profession.





Visit the complete Staff Directory.

© 2008-2014 AACOM. All rights reserved.
5550 Friendship Boulevard, Suite 310, Chevy Chase, MD 20815-7231  P 301.968.4100 F 301.968.4101