AOGME Awards

The AOGME (formerly AODME) sponsors several awards: Award for Excellence in Osteopathic Medical Education, Leadership Awards, Special Lifetime Achievement Awards, and Special Awards. Information on the nomination process as well as past award recipients can be found below.

2018 Call for Nominations

Applications are due February 12, 2018.

Nominate a colleague for the AOGME's (formerly AODME) 2018 Awards. Winners will be announced at the Educating Leaders 2018. Download the nomination form below.

Award Recipients

Special Lifetime Achievement Award 

The AOGME (formerly AODME) Special Lifetime Achievement recognizes members who have been instrumental in advancing the mission and purposes of AOGME through loyal and long-term meritorious service.

  • 2017 - Abraham M. Jeger, PhD, FAODME
  • 2013 - Mark Cummings, PhD
  • 2012 - David Dora, DO
  • 2011 - Dennis Lemanski, DO, FAODME
  • 2009 - Gail Riegle, PhD
  • 2008 - William G. Anderson, DO
  • 2007 - Vance D. Powell, Jr., DO, FAODME, FACOOG
  • 2006 - Lauren Vogel, DO
  • 2005 - Michael Opipari, DO, FAODME, FACOI
  • 2003 - Anthony A. Minissale, DO, BS and Robert G. Ricci, DO, FAOCR
  • 2001 - Norville H. Schock, PhD, FAODME
  • 2000 - Robert J. George, DO, FAODME

Leadership Award 

The Leadership Award recognizes AOGME (formerly AODME) members who have contributed noteworthy service to the osteopathic profession and to AOGME in the past year.

  • 2014
    Robert A. Cain, DO, FACOI
    Richard LaBaere, II, DO, MPH, FAODME
  • 2013
    John Bulger, DO, FACOI, FACP, FAODME
    J. Michael Finley, DO, FACOI, FACP, FACR
    Howard Shulman, DO, FACP, FACOI
  • 2010
    Susan C. Zonia, PhD, FAODME
  • 2009
    James Lally, DO, MS
    David Towle, DO, FAODME, MPH, MS
  • 2005
    Gary Moorman, DO, FAODME, FACOEP, FACEP
  • 2004
    Deborah Blackwell, DO, FACOP
  • 2003
    Gary Willyerd, DO, FAODME, FACOEP
  • 1999
    Norville Schock, PhD, FAODME
  • 1996
    Vance Powell, Jr., DO, FAODME

Award for Excellence in Osteopathic Education

This Award recognizes research and initiatives that excel in the continuum of education in the areas of pre-doctoral, post-doctoral, and continuing medical education.

  • 2011
    Michael Sheehy, DO, FACOEP
  • 2009
    Deborah R. Bennett, DO
  • 2001
    Kari Hortos, DO, FAODME (postdoctoral
    Johathan Rohrer, PhD (postdoctoral)
    Lisa Butler, BA, MSN (predoctoral)
  • 2000
    Joel Dickerman, DO (postdoctoral)
    Bruce Dubin, DO, JD (predoctoral)

Special Award of Appreciation

  • 1998 (posthumously)
    Douglas C. Shaber, DO, FAODME