AACOM is pleased to announce the selection of three outstanding osteopathic medical students to participate in the 2012 Osteopathic Health Policy Intern (OHPI) program:

  • Melissa M. Blessing, A.T. Still University – School of Osteopathic Medicine in Arizona
  • Shwetha Chagala, University of North Texas Health Science Center at Fort Worth Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine
  • Emily E. B. Holt, MPH, Edward Via College of Osteopathic Medicine-Virginia Campus

The OHPI Program enables osteopathic medical students to spend two months in the government relations department at AACOM's national office. The objective of the program is to afford selected student interns the opportunity to develop an understanding and operational knowledge of how federal health care policy is developed and how to effectively influence public policy formulation. The OHPI interns are selected through a highly competitive process.

AACOM is currently accepting applications for 2013 OHPIs. More information can be found on the AACOM website; the application deadline is February 24, 2012.

Inside OME Header
July / August 2011
Vol. 5, No. 7 / 8