(Photo: Dr. Nichols (right) completes her year-long term as AOA President as Dr. Levine (center) takes over the position.)

On July 16, Martin S. Levine, DO, was inaugurated as the 115th President of the American Osteopathic Association (AOA) during the AOA’s Annual Business Meeting in Chicago, Illinois. Dr. Levine is the Associate Dean for Educational Development at the Touro College of Osteopathic Medicine in Harlem, New York. He also has a family practice in Bayonne and Jersey City, New Jersey, and is the Discipline Chief of Family Medicine and Clinical Associate Professor at Seton Hall University School of Health and Medical Sciences Clinical Training Center at St. Michael’s Medical Center in Newark, New Jersey.

Dr. Levine is an alumnus of A.T. Still University – Kirksville College of Osteopathic Medicine and is a fellow of the American College of Osteopathic Family Physicians, a member of the AOA Board of Trustees, and past President of the New Jersey Association of Osteopathic Physicians and Surgeons. Dr. Levine is one of 20 osteopathic physicians in his family. His father, Howard M. Levine, DO, served as AOA President from 1997 to 1998. Congratulations, Dr. Levine!

Dr. Levine’s installation marks the end of the presidential term of Karen J. Nichols, DO. Dr. Nichols’ presidential focus was “Team Effort: Working Together to Advance the Profession.” She has returned to her position as Dean of the Chicago College of Osteopathic Medicine of Midwestern University.

AACOM Board of Deans member Ray E. Stowers, DO, (Pictured in center) Vice President and Dean, Lincoln Memorial University – DeBusk College of Osteopathic Medicine (LMU-DCOM), was elected AOA President-elect. Dr. Stowers attended the Kansas City University of Medicine and Biosciences College of Osteopathic Medicine and founded the first rural health clinics in the state of Oklahoma. He has served as a member of Oklahoma’s delegation to the AOA House of Delegates since 1980; was elected to the AOA Board of Trustees in 2000; and has served in various other leadership positions within the AOA’s Bureaus, Councils and Committees.

Dr. Stowers also has served on the Physician Payment Review Commission and the Medicare Payment Advisory Commission. In 2005, he became the founding Dean of LMU-DCOM. Congratulations, Dr. Stowers!

Photos courtesy of American Osteopathic Association.

Inside OME Header
July / August 2011
Vol. 5, No. 7 / 8