COM Administration and Faculty Members Recognized at AOA Business Meeting

At the American Osteopathic Association’s Annual Business Meeting, several administrators and faculty members from the nation’s colleges of osteopathic medicine were recognized for their achievements. As one of her last duties as AOA President, Karen Nichols, DO, presented Presidential Citations to  Kathleen H. Goeppinger, PhD, President and CEO, Midwestern University, and Michael I. Opipari, DO, Assistant Dean and Professor, Michigan State University College of Osteopathic Medicine.

During an awards luncheon following the House of Delegates, Dixie Tooke-Rawlins, DO, Vice President and Dean of the Edward Via College of Osteopathic Medicine (VCOM), (pictured at left) was presented with the American Osteopathic Foundation’s (AOF) Educator of the Year Award by AOF President James M. Lally, DO. The award is presented to an individual who exemplifies the osteopathic medical profession's highest standards of excellence in teaching and long-standing contributions to academic advancement. Dr. Tooke-Rawlins is the founding Dean of VCOM and VCOM - Carolinas Campus. Her career in osteopathic medicine has spanned more than two decades, with roles including a faculty member in family medicine and emergency medicine at the Kirksville College of Osteopathic Medicine; residency program director; national evaluator for medical school and residency accreditation; and member of two Governor's work force taskforces in the Commonwealth of Virginia.

Also during the luncheon, the 2011 Class of Great Pioneers was inducted. New inductees include (among others): Dr. Nichols; Edward G. Stiles, DO, Professor of Osteopathic Principles and Practice, University of Pikeville – Kentucky College of Osteopathic Medicine; and Fred C. Tinning, PhD, Past-President, A.T. Still University – Kirksville College of Osteopathic Medicine. Doug Wood, DO, PhD, Senior Vice President - Academic Affairs, A.T. Still University – School of Osteopathic Medicine in Arizona, was not able to attend the ceremony in previous years and received his award as a member of the 2008 Class of Great Pioneers. To be inducted as a Great Pioneer, individuals must have made significant contributions during careers of at least 25 years in the osteopathic medical profession. Congratulations to all of the honorees!

Photo courtesy of American Osteopathic Association.  

Inside OME Header
July / August 2011
Vol. 5, No. 7 / 8