Individuals Honored at AOA Osteopathic Medical Conference and Exposition

The American Osteopathic Association (AOA) recently held its annual Osteopathic Medical Conference and Exposition (OMED) in Orlando, Florida. During the opening session, three awards were presented to osteopathic physicians. Dennis Cramer, DO, received the George W. Northup, DO, Medical Writing Award for his “Effect of Pedal Pump and Thoracic Pump Techniques on Intracranial Pressure in Patients with Traumatic Brain Injuries,” published in the Journal of the American Osteopathic Association. Osteopathic manipulative medicine physician Sara Esther Sutton, DO, received the American Osteopathic Association/American Osteopathic Foundation Mentor of the Year Award. The Distinguished Service Certificate, the AOA’s highest honor, was presented to Alvin D. Dubin, DO; Mitchell Kasovac, DO; and Eugene Zachary, DO.

Dr. Sutton was recognized again, along with this year’s other Mentor of the Year nominees, Janet Burns, DO; Robert Danoff, DO; Rachael Mergenmeier, DO; and Al Turner, DO, at the American Osteopathic Foundation (AOF) Honors Dinner and Mentor Reception. The reception was followed by the AOF Honors Dinner, where award and scholarships recipients were recognized. The late AOA Trustee Boyd W. Bowden II, DO, was remembered with a special ceremony, and his wife Ellen accepted the AOF Lifetime Achievement Award on his behalf. The AOF Physician of the Year Award was presented to Terry A. Johnson, DO, who serves in the Ohio House of Representatives.

During the AOA Council of Interns and Residents (CIR) Leadership Summit, Dean of the Chicago College of Osteopathic Medicine of Midwestern University Karen J. Nichols, DO; CIR Immediate Past Chair Draion Burch, DO; and AOA Director of Membership Sherry McAuliffe, were awarded with the newly established Karen J. Nichols, DO, Excellence in Postgraduation Service Award.

Physicians, students and faculty members shared their research findings and participated in the Research Conference Competition at the Annual AOA Research Conference at OMED, hosted by the AOA Council on Research and themed “The Science Supporting the Impact of OMT on the Human Condition.” Three first-place winners received a $500 award – Timothy Gaunter, OMS-II, Chicago College of Osteopathic Medicine of Midwestern University, for his poster, “Evaluation of CCR1 Antagonists in Multiple Myeloma and Osteolytic Bone Disease”; Allison L. Macke, OMS-III, Ohio University Heritage College of Osteopathic Medicine, for her poster, “Social, Societal, and Economic Burden of Mal de Debarquement Syndrome”; and Youssef A. Kouse, OMS-V, Michigan State University College of Osteopathic Medicine, for his poster, “Intra-amniotic Gene Delivery of lrf6 to the Periderm using an Adenoviral Vector.”

DOCARE International, a medical outreach organization dedicated to providing much-needed health care to indigent and isolated people in remote areas around the world, also held a meeting at OMED, inducting as its new President Tyler Cymet, DO, AACOM Associate Vice President for Medical Education. DOCARE Immediate Past-President Jim Cole, DO, was awarded with the Klobnack Award for his outstanding leadership of DOCARE, with achievements such as establishing the first-year continuity care clinic and expanding membership. The award is given to individuals who lead or coordinate one mission to South or Central America, are a lifetime or active member of DOCARE for at least 10 years, and are involved in other ways. Jan Burdick, PharmD, and John Burdick, PhD, Vice President for Basic Science, Midwestern University, received the Allaby Award for their support of and participation in multiple DOCARE missions, and many other contributions to the organization.

For more information on awards and a recap of the conference, visit: here.

Inside OME Header
November 2011
Vol. 5, No. 11