James N. Weinstein, DO, MSc, was recently elected to the Institute of Medicine (IOM). He is the only osteopathic physician currently holding membership in IOM. Dr. Weinstein serves as Director, Dartmouth Institute for Health Policy and Clinical Practice; President, Dartmouth – Hitchcock Clinic; and Peggy Y. Thomson Professor in the Evaluative Clinical Sciences, Dartmouth – Hitchcock Medical Center, Lebanon, New Hampshire. The IOM, established in 1970, is an honorific membership and advisory organization. It serves as a national resource for independent, scientifically informed analysis and recommendations on health issues. Just five foreign associates and 65 new members are elected each year; they are selected for “their excellence and professional achievement in a field relevant to the IOM’s mission and for their willingness to participate actively in its work.” Congratulations to Dr. Weinstein!
Inside OME Header
November 2011
Vol. 5, No. 11