On December 3, 2011 the National Board of Osteopathic Medical Examiners (NBOME) installed Janice Knebl, DO, MBA, as the new Chair of its Board of Directors. Dr. Knebl is a Professor of Medicine and Chief of the Division of Geriatrics/Department of Medicine at the University of North Texas Health Science Center/Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine (UNTHSC/TCOM). She is also the Project Director of the UNTHSC Reynolds Geriatrics Education and Training in Texas (GET-IT) program. Dr. Knebl has been a member of the NBOME Board of Directors since 1999, and has served on the organization’s Executive Committee as Secretary/Treasurer and Vice Chair. Regarding her appointment, Dr. Knebl said, “Becoming Chair of NBOME’s Board is truly an honor, privilege and a highlight of my academic medical career.”

Other Board members installed at the meeting include: Vice Chair Wayne Carlsen, DO, Assistant Dean for Clinical Education and Associate Professor of Geriatric Medicine/Gerontology, Ohio University Heritage College of Osteopathic Medicine; Board Member Bruce Bates, DO, Associate Dean for Clinical Services and Chair of the Department of Geriatric Medicine, University of New England College of Osteopathic Medicine; Board Member H. Timothy Dombrowski, DO, MPH, Associate Professor and Chair of the Department of Medicine, University of Medicine and Dentistry of New Jersey – School of Osteopathic Medicine; Board Member Lori Kemper, DO, MS, Dean, Midwestern University, Arizona College of Osteopathic Medicine; and Board Member Roberta Wattleworth, DO, MHA, MPH, Chair of the Department of Family Medicine, Des Moines University College of Osteopathic Medicine.

The NBOME’s mission is to protect the public by providing the means to assess competencies for osteopathic medicine and related health care professions.

Inside OME Header
Dec 2011 - Vol. 5, No. 12
Jan 2012 - Vol. 6, No. 1