AACOM Group and Council News 


ATSU President Receives Education Hero Award

A.T. Still University (ATSU) President Dr. Jack Magruder recently received the King Foundation Education Hero award for his outstanding service in the education field. The award was one of eight awards presented by the North Central Missouri Chapter of the American Red Cross as part of the Red Cross 2012 Day of Heroes.

DMU Students Volunteer to Help Keep America’s Children Healthy

Downtown Des Moines was bustling with life on February 9, as 130 students and staff from the Des Moines University (DMU) and local residents, pledged their time as volunteers at the 2nd anniversary tour kickoff of First Lady Michelle Obama’s “Let’s Move!” initiative. The campaign is part of a national effort to end childhood obesity by promoting healthier living among children in the United States through physical activity and a better diet. DMU Community Relations Manager Melissa Wilder organized DMU volunteer recruitment for the event. "Being part of First Lady Michelle Obama's ‘Let's Move!’ event was a great experience for Des Moines University students, staff and faculty. It was a fun and effective way to share the importance of health and fitness with a very large group of local school children."

GA-PCOM Partners in New Family Medicine Center

In June, Georgia Campus – Philadelphia College of Osteopathic Medicine (GA-PCOM), Houston Healthcare and Georgia Health Sciences University will establish Georgia’s first family medicine educational center emphasizing total body wellness. The goal is to improve patient care by training better doctors, improving health care from the ground up in the mid-state region of Georgia.

MSUCOM Student DO Receives NIH Award

Youssef Kousa, a fifth-year student in the Michigan State University College of Osteopathic Medicine (MSUCOM DO-PhD program, has received the National Institutes of Health prestigious Ruth L. Kirschstein National Research Service Award, which will allow him to complete a fellowship involving innovative cleft palate research. The $65,000 stipend provided with the award will help pay Mr. Kousa’s tuition and fees over a 21-month research period. “I hope that I can use this fellowship to give something back with my research,” Kousa remarks.

Blue Cross Contributes to OSU-COM Healthy Women Program

Blue Cross Blue Shield of Oklahoma has recently made a donation of $300,000 to the Healthy Women, Healthy Futures program at Oklahoma State University Center for Health Sciences College of Osteopathic Medicine (OSU-COM). The Healthy Women, Healthy Futures program was created to assist at-risk mothers living in poverty by providing medical services and wellness education. “One of our top missions at OSU-COM is to provide health care for underserved populations,” said Howard Barnett, President of OSU-Tulsa and OSU-CHS. The Blue Cross Blue Shield contribution inspired a matching gift of $300,000 from the George Kaiser Family Foundation. All $600,000 in donated funds will support nutritional classes, medical care and educational services provided through the Healthy Women program.

UNECOM Director Honored for Excellence in Gerontological Education

The Association for Gerontology in Higher Education (AGHE) has awarded Marilyn Gugliucci, PhD, Director of Geriatric Education and Research at the University of New England College of Osteopathic Medicine, its 2012 Hiram J. Friedsam Mentorship Award. The award was presented to Dr. Gugliucci for her contributions and commitment to mentorship in gerontological education. Dr. Gugliucci received the award at AGHE’s recent 38th Annual Meeting and Educational Leadership Conference.

VCOM Faculty Honored for Bedside Manner

More than 90 Edward Via College of Osteopathic Medicine (VCOM) physician faculty members were recognized in the recently released Ourhealth Magazine 5th Annual Best Bedside Manner Awards for Southwest Virginia in 2011. The awards were based on three criteria: time spent during patient visits, personal attention and overall compassion. VCOM faculty members received a total of 92 awards. “We are extremely proud of our faculty and their commitment to our mission and values,” said VCOM Dean Dixie Tooke-Rawlins, DO.

Inside OME Header
March 2012
Vol. 6, No. 3