The American Association of Colleges of Osteopathic Medicine (AACOM) congratulates the 16 Interprofessional Education Collaborative (IPEC) Curricular Development Award recipients. Each awardee will recieve a grant for development of competency-linked learning resources that promote interprofessional education and models of team-based or collaborative care. The content will become part of a new MedEdPORTAL Interprofessional Education Collaboration collection hosted by the Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC) and coordinated by IPEC. The grants, made possible with funding from the Josiah Macy Jr. Foundation, will be used to accelerate educational content refinement and submission to MedEdPORTAL for peer review. The open-access instructional modules created by the grantees will be the first pieces of a national clearinghouse of interprofessional education learning resources.

While recent grant opportunities for the portal have been exhausted, interested parties at the nation's colleges of osteopathic medicine are invited and encouraged to submit eligible content at

IPEC also has named Sonia J. Crandall, PhD, MS, as Associate Editor for the IPEC Collection.  Dr. Crandall is a tenured professor of both Physician Assistant Studies and Family & Community Medicine at the Wake Forest School of Medicine, and serves as Director for both Scholarship and Research for the Department of Physician Assistant Studies and the Women’s Health Center of Excellence Leadership and Mentoring Program. Dr. Crandall also is an affiliate faculty member at the Maya Angelou Center for Health Equity and the Wake Forest University Translational Science Institute. Cecilia Rokusek, EdD, RD, Executive Director of the Center for Interprofessional Education and Practice at Nova Southeastern University College of Osteopathic Medicine, serves as AACOM’s representative on the IP Portal advisory committee.

AACOM is a partner in the Interprofessional Education Collaborative (IPEC), along with the American Association of Colleges of Nursing (AACN), the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy (AACP), the Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC), the American Dental Education Association (ADEA), and the Association of Schools of Public Health (ASPH).

Click here to learn more about all of AACOM’s IPE initiatives.

Inside OME Header
September 2012
Vol. 6, No. 9