KCUMB-COM Appoints Interim Dean

The Kansas City University of Medicine and Biosciences-College of Osteopathic Medicine (KCUMB-COM) has appointed G. Michael Johnston, DO, to serve as Interim Dean, effective July 1. Dr. Johnston succeeds Marc B. Hahn, DO, who stepped down from the role as KCUMB-COM Executive Vice President, Academic and Medical Affairs; Provost and Dean and now serves as KCUMB’s 14th President and Chief Executive Officer. As Interim Dean, Dr. Johnston will represent KCUMB-COM as a member of the AACOM Board of Deans (BOD).

AOA’s 116th President Returns to Helm at LMU-DCOM

On July 20, Ray E. Stowers, DO, resumed his role as Vice President of Health Sciences and Dean of the Lincoln Memorial University-DeBusk College of Osteopathic Medicine (LMU-DCOM), subsequent to the close of his term as the 116th President of the American Osteopathic Association (AOA). During Dr. Stowers’ AOA presidency, Michael Wieting, DO, served as LMU-DCOM Interim Dean in addition to his current roles as Dean of Clinical Medicine, Assistant Vice President of Program Development, and Professor of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation.

PNWU-COM Dean Steps Down, Acting Dean is Appointed

Robyn Phillips-Madson, DO, MPH, has stepped down from her position as Dean of the Pacific Northwest University of Health Sciences-College of Osteopathic Medicine (PNWU-COM), effective July 22. On July 25, PNWU-COM appointed Anita Showalter, DO, as PNWU-COM Acting Dean. Dr. Phillips-Madson will continue to serve as a professor of family medicine at the college and will function as Program Chair for the AACOM 2014 Annual Conference.

UNTHSC Interim President Takes on Presidency Role

On July 12, the University of North Texas System Board of Regents appointed Michael R. Williams, DO, MD, MBA, to the position of President of the University of North Texas Health Science Center (UNTHSC). Dr. Williams has served as UNTHSC Interim President since December 2012.

Inside OME Header
July / August 2013
Vol. 7, No. 7 / 8