The AOF Announces New Scholarship in Honor of Karen J. Nichols, DO, MA

In May, the American Osteopathic Foundation (AOF) announced the opening of the first application cycle for the Karen J. Nichols, DO, LEAD Scholar Award. This new osteopathic medical education scholarship was established in honor of Karen J. Nichols, DO, MA, Dean of the Chicago College of Osteopathic Medicine of Midwestern University (CCOM/MWU) and 2010-2011 President of the American Osteopathic Association (AOA), for her many years of service and leadership in the osteopathic medical community.

The $1,000 annual award was made possible through contributions from Dr. Nichols’ friends and family. Eligible applicants for this award include currently enrolled osteopathic medical students who demonstrate each of the “LEAD” criteria: leadership, excellence, achievement, and dedication. The 2013 Karen J. Nichols, DO, LEAD Scholar Award application cycle is now closed and the awardee will be announced at the AOA Osteopathic Medical Conference & Exposition (OMED) 2013.

Inside OME Header
June 2013
Vol. 7, No. 6 / 8