On April 16, Andrew Taylor Still, DO, was inducted into the Hall of Famous Missourians. Dr. Still is regarded as the founder of osteopathic medicine, a system of medicine which he formed in the late 1800s through his pioneering efforts to find new ways of improving and supporting human health. The event was held at the Missouri State Capitol in Jefferson City, MO and was led by Representative Timothy Jones, Missouri House of Representatives Speaker of the House. Remarks were also delivered by Representative Nate Walker; Henry Petry, DO, Missouri Association of Osteopathic Physicians and Surgeons; and Adrienne White-Faines, MPA, Executive Director and CEO of the American Osteopathic Association (AOA); Craig M. Phelps, DO, President of A.T. Still University (ATSU); Jason Haxton, MA, Director of the Museum of Osteopathic Medicine; several members of the Still family, and others.

The bronze bust of Dr. Still, sculpted by local artist Brandon Crandall, was unveiled during the induction ceremony and placed on the third floor of the Missouri Capitol rotunda where it will serve as a symbolic reminder of Dr. Still's legacy.

Inside OME Header
April/May 2014
Vol. 8, No. 4/5