Bruce Dubin, DO, Receives AACOM’s 2014 Dale Dodson Award

Bruce Dubin, DOAACOM’s Assembly of Presidents (AOP) named Bruce Dubin, DO, JD, Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs, Provost and Dean of the Kansas City University of Medicine and Biosciences College of Osteopathic Medicine (KCUMB-COM), as the recipient of the 2014 Dale Dodson Award on Tuesday, October 28.

Created in memory of AOA Past President and osteopathic medical education innovator Dale S. Dodson, DO, this annual award recognizes a current or past CEO or CAO of an osteopathic medical college who has made significant contributions to the advancement or support of osteopathic medical education.

“It is a great honor to receive the 2014 Dale Dodson Award, and to be recognized by my colleagues,” Dr. Dubin said. “Being able to contribute to the continued advancement of osteopathic medical education is something I take great pride in. It’s important that we provide the next generation of physicians with the best educational experiences possible, so that they, in turn, can provide outstanding care to thousands of patients during their careers.”

Prior to KCUMB, Dr. Dubin was Dean and Chief Academic Officer at Rocky Vista University College of Osteopathic Medicine (RVUCOM) before serving as Interim President from 2011-13. Leading in a variety of capacities including Associate Dean at the Ohio University Heritage College of Osteopathic Medicine (OU-HCOM) from 1999-2002, he was Vice Dean, Interim Dean, and Associate Dean of Academic Affairs at the University of North Texas Health Science Center-Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine (UNTHSC-TCOM). He also served as Associate Dean for Academic Affairs for Edward Via College of Osteopathic Medicine-Virginia Campus (VCOM-VC) from 2002-03.

Dr. Dubin earned his Bachelor of Arts degree in chemistry and biology from Eastern Michigan University and a Juris Doctor degree from the University of Detroit Mercy. Board certified in internal medicine (AOBIM), he earned his Doctor of Osteopathic Medicine degree from A.T. Still University’s Kirksville College of Osteopathic Medicine (ATSU-KCOM).

Dr. Dubin’s many honors include receiving the Meritorious Medical Educator Recognition from the State of Texas Legislature in 2010, the Texas Osteopathic Association Meritorious Service Award in 2009, being named Educator of the Year from the American Osteopathic Foundation in 2007, and receiving the Riland Medal for Academic Leadership from the New York Institute of Technology-College of Osteopathic Medicine (NYIT-COM) and School of Health Professions in 2006.

Congratulations, Dr. Dubin!

Inside OME Header
November 2014
Vol. 8, No. 10