Shop    |     Sign In
Skip navigation links
What is Osteopathic Medicine?
Latest News
Press Releases
U.S. Colleges of Osteopathic Medicine
Additional Resources
Fast Facts


American Colleges of Osteopathic Medicine


March 15, 2013


Lindsey Jurd
Editor and Communications Associate
Phone: 301-968-4152

National Academy of Osteopathic Medical Educators Names 2013 Fellows

NAOME logo

The American Association of Colleges of Osteopathic Medicine (AACOM) has announced the 2013-2018 Fellows for its National Academy of Osteopathic Medical Educators (NAOME). NAOME Fellows are inducted into the Academy each year to serve a five-year term. As Fellows, inductees function as leaders and mentors for academic scholarship and excellence within the osteopathic medical education community.
This year’s inductees are:

  • Wayne A. Wilson, PhD, Associate Professor of Biochemistry, Des Moines University College of Osteopathic Medicine
  • Harald Lausen, DO, MA, Associate Professor and Director of Medical Student Education, Southern Illinois University School of Medicine  
  • Elizabeth K. McClain, EdS, PhD, Assistant Dean of Clinical Education, Kansas City University of Medicine & Biosciences College of Osteopathic Medicine
  • Michael L. Kuchera, DO, Professor and Chair of Osteopathic Manipulative Medicine, Marian University College of Osteopathic Medicine

NAOME was established in 2009 as the first national health professions education academy. Its peer-selected membership makes up a community of outstanding educators from across the osteopathic medical education continuum.

View more information on NAOME

View a full list of NAOME Fellows

Additional Contact for NAOME:

Luke H. Mortensen, PhD
Vice President and Chair for Medical Education
American Association of Colleges of Osteopathic Medicine
5550 Friendship Blvd., Suite 310
Chevy Chase, 20815-7231

The American Association of Colleges of Osteopathic Medicine (AACOM) represents the nation’s 29 colleges of osteopathic medicine at 37 locations in 28 states. Today, more than 21,000 students are enrolled in osteopathic medical schools. One in five U.S. medical students is training to become an osteopathic physician.

AACOM was founded in 1898 to support and assist the nation's osteopathic medical schools, and to serve as a unifying voice for osteopathic medical education. AACOM’s mission is to promote excellence in osteopathic medical education, in research and in service, and to foster innovation and quality among osteopathic medical colleges to improve the health of the American public.

© 2008-2014 AACOM. All rights reserved.
5550 Friendship Boulevard, Suite 310, Chevy Chase, MD 20815-7231  P 301.968.4100 F 301.968.4101