Skip navigation links
SOME Overview
SIG Guidelines
SOME Signup Page
SOME SIG: Faculty Development
SOME Innovation in Medical Education Awards

Society of Osteopathic Medical Educators (SOME) 

Annual SOME “Innovation in Medical Education” Awards



  Call for Innovation in Medical Education Awards has OPEN! 


Deadline for submissions: Friday, March 7 2014

SOME offers two $1,000 awards, annually, within the scope of “Innovations in Medical Education.” Applications will be reviewed and selected on merit by peer-review.

Note: Attendance at the AACOM Annual Meeting to receive this award is strongly encouraged so that the submission may be viewed as a poster presentation. To be eligible for this award, you must be a member of SOME (See more information about SOME and how to follow through on quick, free membership). NOTE: Members of the SOME Steering Committee are not eligible to apply.

Available award categories within “Innovations in Medical Education” include:

·      The Marguerite Elliott Innovation in Clinical Medical Education Award

·      Innovation in Basic Science Medical Education Award

·      Innovation in Osteopathic Medical Distinctiveness Award

·      Innovation in Ideas Carried Through from AACOM Annual Meetings Award

·      Innovation in the Development of Enduring Educational Materials Award

The Application Process is electronic and requires:

·      Title of your innovation

·      Description of the innovation containing sufficient detail to allow replication by peers

·      Supporting evidence of the effectiveness of your innovation (e.g. letter(s) of support from participants/users/master educational administrators who are well acquainted with your innovation and/or other outcome measurements)

·      Submitting your application by uploading the information form and letter of support as directed, when the submission form is available.

For questions, please contact Luke Mortensen at lmortensen@aacom.org or Natieya Davis at ndavis@aacom.org.



Connect with your colleagues across campus and across the country!

SOME Community (members only)
This online community Includes shared resources, member directory, announcements, discussion forum and more.

SOME Roster

The Society of Osteopathic Medical Educators is an open-membership society of osteopathic medical educators (faculty and staff) who are involved in planning and/or providing osteopathic medical education programs along the full continuum of osteopathic medical education. The Society seeks to include those involved in educational programs through the colleges of osteopathic medicine, osteopathic post-graduate training institutions (OPTIs), specialty colleges, and continuing medical education programs. The mission of the society is to promote the continuous collaborative improvement of osteopathic medical education.

Please Join Us!

If you wish to communicate on the SOME Community, email Luke H. Mortensen at lmortensen@aacom.org indicating the following:

  1. That you are responsible for creating and/or implementing an osteopathic medical education program and are eligible to be an official voting member of SOME.

    or, if #1 does not apply to you -
  2. Indicate that you would like join the online community to participate in the discussions. 
  3. Also, note that you agree to abide by usage terms when you log into the community. 

AACOM Staff Liaisons:
Luke H. Mortensen, PhD, FAHA, VP and Chair for Medical Education, lmortensen@aacom.org
Tyler Cymet, DO, Associate VP for Medical Education, tcymet@aacom.org

Operating Strategies of the Society

The strategies of this Council shall be to:

A.    share information regarding current educational practices, including content, processes, and administrative oversight, along the continuum of osteopathic medical education

B.    implement best practices for medical education programs along the continuum of osteopathic medical education

C.    promote, plan, conduct and disseminate the results of individual and collaborative osteopathic medical education research

D.    provide opportunities for collaboration among the colleges of osteopathic medicine and among educational programs along the continuum of osteopathic medical education

E.    develop and recommend administrative policies that would promote and reward education scholarship,

F.    present recommendations to the Board of Deans and to prepare and present other
reports which may be requested by the Board of Deans.

Leadership of the Society:

The Society is led by a Steering Committee that is representative of the full continuum of osteopathic medical education, including continuing medical education. Membership on the Steering Committee is determined by a vote of the Society membership in attendance at the Annual Meeting.

Steering Committee Members 2013-2014

Marti Echols, PhD, MEd



Assistant Dean of Medical Education

Elaine Soper, PhD



Associate Dean, Assessment and Educational Development

John Graneto, DO, MEd

Chair- Elect


Associate Professor, Emergency Medicine and Chair, Department of Clinical Integration

Polly Leonard, DO



Associate Clinical Professor

Pamela Basehore, EdD, MPH



Associate Director for Medical Education

Timothy J. Barreiro, DO, FCCP, FACOI, FACP



Associate Professor of Internal Medicine

Mark Andrews, PhD, FNAOME


LECOM-Seton Hill

Professor of Physiology and Director of Examination Management

Diane Karius, PhD



Director Human Patient Simulations

Michael Erickson, OMS-II



COSGP National Medical Education Representative

Mansoor Jatoi, DO



Student representative of the American Osteopathic Association's

(AOA) Board of Trustees. 

Revised 8/14/2013

© 2008-2014 AACOM. All rights reserved.
5550 Friendship Boulevard, Suite 310, Chevy Chase, MD 20815-7231  P 301.968.4100 F 301.968.4101