Federal Administration Nominations and Appointments

AACOM monitors and advocates on federal issues that address or may impact osteopathic medical education. Below are current administrative positions from relevant federal departments.


Department of Education (ED)

  • Secretary:  John B. King, Jr. 
    (confirmed 3/14/16)

Office of Postsecondary Education (OPE)

  • Assistant Secretary for Postsecondary Education and Senior Advisor for Policy and Programs: TBD
  • Deputy Assistant Secretary for Policy, Planning and Innovation: Lynn Mahaffie
  • Deputy Assistant Secretary for Higher Education Programs: Dr. James T. Minor

Department of Health and Human Services (HHS)

  • Secretary: Sylvia Mathews Burwell 
    (confirmed 6/5/14)

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)

  • Director: Richard Kronick, PhD 

Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS)

  • (Acting) Administrator: Andy Slavitt

Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA)

  • (Acting) Administrator: Jim Macrae, MA, MPP

National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health (NCCIH)

  • Director:  Josephine P. Briggs, MD 

National Institutes of Health (NIH)

  • Director:  Francis S. Collins, MD, PhD 
    (confirmed 8/17/09)

Office of Public Health and Science (OPHS)

  • (Acting) Assistant Secretary for Health:  Karen B. DeSalvo, MD, MPH, MSc 

Office of the Surgeon General (OSG)

  • Surgeon General:  Dr. Vivek Hallagere Murthy (confirmed 12/15/14)

Office of National Drug Control Policy (ONDCP)

  • Director: Michael Botticelli, MEd
    (confirmed 2/9/15)

Updated: 3/16/16

U.S. Capitol