This Section:

Policy & Advocacy

Federal Administration Nominations and Appointments

AACOM monitors and advocates on federal issues that address or may impact osteopathic medical education. Below are current administrative positions from relevant federal departments.

U.S. Department of Education (USED)

Secretary:  Betsy DeVos

  • Office of Postsecondary Education (OPE)
    Delegated to Perform the Duties of Assistant Secretary for the Office of Postsecondary Education: Diane Jones
    Deputy Assistant Secretary for Policy, Planning and Innovation: Lynn Mahaffie
  • Federal Student Aid Office (FSA)
    Chief Operating Officer: Mark A. Brown

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS)

Secretary: Alex M. Azar, II, JD

  • Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)
    Director: Gopal Khanna, MBA
  • Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
    Director: Robert R. Redfield, MD
  • Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS)
    Administrator: Seema Verma, MPH
  • Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA)
    Administrator: George Sigounas, MS, PhD
  • National Institutes of Health (NIH)
    Director: Francis S. Collins, MD, PhD
  • Office of the Surgeon General (OSG)
    Surgeon General: Jerome Adams, MD, MPH
  • Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA)
    Assistant Secretary for Mental Health and Substance Use: Elinore McCance-Katz, MD, PhD

White House Office of National Drug Control Policy (ONDCP)

Director: James W. Carroll, Jr.

U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs (VA)

Secretary: Robert Wilkie

  • Veterans Benefits Administration (VBA)
    Under Secretary for Benefits: Paul R. Lawrence, PhD
  • Veterans Health Administration (VHA)
    Executive in Charge: Richard A. Stone, MD
  • Office of Academic Affiliations (OAA)
    Chief Academic Affiliations Officer: Marjorie A. Bowman, MD, MPA

Updated: 6/6/19

U.S. Capitol