This Section:

Inside OME


AOA Honors Professionals and Organizations with Presidential Citations, STAR Awards

August 07, 2018

AOA Honors Four with its Highest Honor

On July 21, 2018, the American Osteopathic Association (AOA) honored four professionals with Presidential Citations during its House of Delegates meeting. Presidential Citations are AOA’s highest honor, recognizing individuals for their dedication to advancing osteopathic medicine and medical education. The four award recipients were Clinton E. Adams, DO, President and CEO of Rocky Vista University College of Osteopathic Medicine (RVUCOM); Karen J. Nichols, DO, Immediate Past Dean of the Chicago College of Osteopathic Medicine at Midwestern University (CCOM); George Thomas, DO, former AOA President; and Joshua Prober, JD, AOA Senior Vice President and General Counsel.

In 2015, Dr. Adams was elected to the Board of Directors of the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME). Earlier in his career, Dr. Adams completed an Academic Fellowship at AACOM and has been the recipient of two AACOM awards. In 2014, he received the Robert A. Kistner Award from the AACOM Board of Deans in recognition of his significant contributions to osteopathic medical education throughout his career. In 2011, he received AACOM’s Dale Dodson Award, which recognizes current or past CEOs or CAOs of an osteopathic medical college who have made significant contributions to the advancement and support of osteopathic medical education.

Dr. Nichols is a former AOA president and the association’s first woman to serve in that role. She is currently on AACOM’s Task Force on Clinical Training & the Continuum of Osteopathic Medical Education, helping the field examine and respond to changes in health care and medical education that impact osteopathic medical education. She is also currently on the AOA Board of Trustees.

Four STAR Award Recipients

Photo: Clint Adams, DO, President and CEO of RVUCOM (pictured front left), and David Park, DO, Vice President of RVUCOM (pictured front middle), and Bruce A. Wolf, DO, AOA Trustee (pictured front right).

In addition to Presidential Citations, AOA also awards four Strategic Team Award and Recognition (STAR) prizes. STAR awards are given to osteopathic organizations that implement innovative activities and help advance AOA’s key initiatives. RVUCOM was honored for its support of state osteopathic associations in Colorado and Utah, and its Academic Medicine and Leadership Track—a selective enrichment course that trains students on academics, medical education, organized medicine, health policy, and leadership development.

Also honored were the American Academy of Osteopathy (AAO) for working with the National Board of Osteopathic Medical Examiners (NBOME) to develop its CORRE program, administered to medical students and physicians applying to residency programs with osteopathic recognition. The Missouri Association of Osteopathic Physicians and Surgeons (MAOPS) was recognized for developing its Osteopathic Continuum, a network of state osteopathic associations working to provide continuing medical education (CME) opportunities to their members; and for CMEprn, a free app allowing physicians and health care providers to quickly locate and register for relevant CME events. The Student Osteopathic Medical Association (SOMA) received a STAR award for continuing to grow its relationship with AOA, and for its work on integrating the Osteopathic Medical Education Conference (OMED) with the SOMA Fall Convention.

OU-HCOM Student Named to AOA Trustee Board

080918_OUHCOM_CRDuring the House of Delegates meeting osteopathic medical student Adam Coridan from the Ohio University Heritage College of Osteopathic Medicine at Dublin (OU-HCOM) was elected as the new student representative to the AOA Board of Trustees. He has also served as student representative to AOA’s Bureau of State Government Affairs. Prior to medical school, Coridan worked for Ohio's Office of Budget and Management and the Ohio Department of Public Safety in budget management and program analysis.


Vol. 2, No. 14
August 9, 2018