Thomas Boyle, DO, Becomes New Dean of CCOM

July 06, 2018
Dr. Boyle headshot

Kathleen H. Goeppinger, PhD, President and Chief Executive Officer of Midwestern University, recently announced the promotion of Thomas Boyle, DO, FACOEP, FACEP, to Dean of the Chicago College of Osteopathic Medicine at Midwestern University (CCOM). Dr. Boyle most recently served as Dean of Postdoctoral Education and Executive Director of the Midwestern University Osteopathic Postdoctoral Training Institute.

“I am very pleased that Dr. Boyle has accepted the position as Dean of the Chicago College of Osteopathic Medicine. He is well qualified, a visionary leader, and an important member of our academic community,” Dr. Goeppinger said. 

Dr. Boyle began his career at Midwestern University in 1992 as a Clinical Assistant Professor of Emergency Medicine. He served as the Student Education Coordinator and Chair of Emergency Medicine from 2001 to 2008. In 2008, he was promoted to Associate Dean of Clinical Services for CCOM. In 2010, Dr. Boyle stepped in as CCOM Dean for one year while Karen J. Nichols, DO, MA, MACOI, CS—who will step down from the role of CCOM Dean July 15took a leave of absence to serve as President of the American Osteopathic Association (AOA). Following his year as CCOM Dean, Dr. Boyle was promoted to Dean of Postdoctoral Education, where he led the development of new medical education training sites and helped expand Midwestern University’s medical fellowship and residency programs to align with new national guidelines.

Dr. Boyle earned a Doctor of Osteopathic Medicine degree from the Philadelphia College of Osteopathic Medicine (PCOM). He is a board-certified emergency medicine physician, and previously held positions as a staff physician and Medical Director in the emergency department at St. James Hospital in Olympia Fields. Dr. Boyle also served as a General Medical Officer in the United States Air Force from 1984 to 1989.

Dr. Boyle is an Illinois delegate to the AOA House of Delegates and serves as Treasurer for the Illinois Osteopathic Medical Society (IOMS). He is a member of the AACOM Board of Deans. This past March, Dr. Boyle was honored by the Assembly of Osteopathic Graduate Medical Educators (AOGME) as the recipient of their 2018 Leadership Award.


Vol. 2, No. 12
July 12, 2018