This Section:

Inside OME


AACOM Names 2018-2023 NAOME Fellows

March 06, 2018

NAOME logoAACOM has announced the 2018-2023 National Academy of Osteopathic Medical Educators (NAOME) Fellows.

NAOME Fellows are inducted into the Academy each year to serve a five-year term. Inductees function as leaders and mentors for academic scholarship and excellence within the osteopathic medical education community.

Here are this year’s inductees and their applied area of academic excellence:

  • Mark J. Hernandez, MS, PhD
    Alabama College of Osteopathic Medicine
    (Teaching and Evaluation)
  • Ryan M. Smith, DO, MS
    University of New England College of Osteopathic Medicine
    (Teaching and Evaluation)
  • Harold Lausen, DO, MA
    Southern Illinois University School of Medicine
    (Educational Leadership)

Two NAOME Fellows have successfully reapplied for an additional five-year fellowship. These Fellows are:

  • Wayne A. Wilson, PhD
    Des Moines College of Osteopathic Medicine
    (Teaching and Evaluation)
  • Elizabeth McClain, PhD
    William Carey University College of Osteopathic Medicine
    (Educational Leadership)

NAOME was established in 2009 as the first national health professions education academy. Its peer-selected membership makes up a community of outstanding educators from across the osteopathic medical education continuum. Visit the NAOME web page for more information.  

Interested in learning more about NAOME?
Speak to a NAOME Fellow at Educating Leaders 2018, the AACOM Annual Conference, for more information on the academy and becoming a Fellow.


Vol. 2, No. 5
March 8, 2018