This Section:

Inside OME


Celebrating 2018 AOGME Awardees & Collegium of Fellows Inductees

April 30, 2018

(Washington, DC)–The American Association of Colleges of Osteopathic Medicine (AACOM)’s
Assembly of Osteopathic Graduate Medical Educators (AOGME) inducted nine leaders to its prestigious Collegium of Fellows and awarded the 2018 AOGME Leadership Awards and Special Award of Appreciation. These leaders, eminently accomplished in osteopathic medical education and/or health care over the course of their careers, officially received the Assembly's highest honor at a special ceremony during Educating Leaders 2018, the AACOM Annual conference in Washington, DC on April 19.

The AOGME  (formerly AODME) recognizes a small number of candidates each year with the award of Fellow in recognition of long and meritorious service to AOGME. To be eligible, fellows must have demonstrated extraordinary, sustained contributions to AOGME, the osteopathic profession and/or medical education, health care. Fellows are approved through a vote by the collegium of fellows.

The following individuals are honored as 2018 Collegium of Fellows in recognition of the multiple contributions they have made to osteopathic medical education that continue to resound throughout the field today.

  • Juan Acosta, DO, MS, FACOEP, FACEP
  • Teresa Braden, DO, MBA, FACOI, FACP, FAAEM
  • Robert Cain, DO, FACOI
  • Stacy Chase, DO, FACOFP
  • Pat Crean, C-TAGME
  • Steven Gates, DO, FACOI
  • Lisa Nash, DO, MS-HPEd, FAAFP
  • Lorenzo Pence, DO, FACOFP
  • Dana Shaffer, DO, FACOFP

In addition to the Collegium of Fellows, AOGME recognized two leadership award recipients. The AOGME Leadership award recognizes individuals who have contributed noteworthy service to the osteopathic profession and to AODME/AOGME in the past twelve months. These individuals have demonstrated exemplary leadership skills in the area of osteopathic medical education (OME) and shown innovation and creativity in osteopathic medical education development. Thomas Boyle, DO, FACEP, FACOEP and Thomas J. Mohr, MS, DO, FACOI, FAODME, received the 2018 Leadership Award. AOGME also presented a special award of appreciation to Margaret Hardy, JD, to recognize exemplary effort and exceptional contributions to the AOGME. Learn more about the AOGME Awards.

Learn more about the Assembly of Osteopathic Graduate Medical Educators at www.aacom.org/aogme or contact aogme@aacom.org 


Vol. 2, No. 8
May 17, 2018