This Section:

Inside OME


New Leadership Announced for the American Academy of Osteopathy

May 16, 2018

Kendi L. Hensel, DO, PhD, FAAO, was chosen to be the President-Elect of the American Academy of Osteopathy (AAO) on March 22 during the AAO’s annual Convocation in Dallas. After spending a year as President-Elect, Dr. Hensel will become the 2019-2020 President of the AAO, the nation’s largest medical society devoted to fostering neuromusculoskeletal medicine and osteopathic manipulative medicine and (NMM/OMM).

Dr. Hensel is an Associate Professor in the Department of Osteopathic Manipulative Medicine (OMM) at the University of North Texas Health Science Center’s Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine (UNTHSC/TCOM). She recently completed a National Institutes of Health–funded study on OMM in pregnancy.

Dr. Hensel has served on the AAO’s Board of Trustees and the American Osteopathic Association’s Bureau of Osteopathic Clinical Education and Research, and she is an Associate Editor for The Journal of the American Osteopathic Association. She chairs AACOM's Education Council on Osteopathic Principles (ECOP), and she is a member of the Osteopathic Cranial Academy and the American College of Osteopathic Family Physicians.

Dr. Hensel said, “I’m honored to have been elected by my colleagues that share my love of osteopathic medicine, and I’m looking forward to serving the profession.”

GriffinL_2013_250pxLaura E. Griffin, DO, FAAO, was elected to the Board of Governors of the American Academy of Osteopathy (AAO) on March 22 at the AAO’s annual meeting during its Convocation in Dallas. Dr. Griffin was one of four osteopathic physicians from around the country to be newly elected as a governor of the AAO, the largest medical society in the United States devoted to fostering NMM and OMM. She will serve a three-year term.

A 1996 graduate from the University of New England College of Osteopathic Medicine (UNE COM) in Biddeford, ME, Dr. Griffin is the Assistant Dean of Osteopathic Principles and Practice (OPP) at the University of Pikeville-Kentucky College of Osteopathic Medicine (UP-KYCOM), where she also is a Professor and the Chair of the OPP Department.

Dr. Griffin was the AAO’s 2016-2017 President, and she previously served on the AAO’s Board of Trustees, the Education Committee, and the Postdoctoral Standards and Education Committee, among other activities. She also has held leadership roles on the AOA's American Osteopathic Board of Neuromusculoskeletal Medicine, the American Osteopathic Association, and she has served on AACOMs ECOP for 10 years.


Vol. 2, No. 8
May 17, 2018