This Section:

Inside OME


Thomas J. Nasca, MD, MACP Receives William D. Miller Award during AACOM’s Board of Deans Retreat

November 18, 2019

Nasca_HeadshotToday, November 21, Thomas J. Nasca, MD, MACP received AACOM’s William D. Miller Award during the association’s Board of Deans Retreat Meeting in Scottsdale, AZ. AACOM announced that its Board of Deans had chosen Dr. Nasca as the award recipient during Educating Leaders 2019, AACOM’s annual conference. In memory of a former Chair of the AACOM Board of Deans, the award recognizes extraordinary individuals who have made tremendous contributions to the advancement of the osteopathic profession.

The board selected Dr. Nasca for his advancement of osteopathic graduate medical education and the unified graduate medical education accreditation process. Margaret Wilson, DO, Vice Chair for the Board of Deans, nominated him for the award, "Dr. Nasca has shown a great commitment to osteopathic medicine through his leadership in the unified graduate medical education accreditation process. His efforts to advance the profession brought by collaboration and the championing of osteopathic representation exemplifies his contributions that warrant this tremendous honor."

Dr. Nasca is currently the President and CEO of the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME), Professor of Medicine at Jefferson Medical College, and Senior Scholar of the Department of Medical Education at the University of Illinois at Chicago School of Medicine. Prior to his role at ACGME, Dr. Nasca served as Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs at Thomas Jefferson University and the Anthony and Gertrude DePalma Dean of Jefferson Medical College. Dr. Nasca is board certified in Internal Medicine and Nephrology.

To learn more about AACOM’s leadership awards, including previous recipients, visit the awards programs webpage.


Vol. 3, No. 20
November 21, 2019