Several Students Honored with Awards During COSGP Winter Meeting

January 28, 2020

Several students became big winners at AACOM’s Council of Osteopathic Student Government Presidents (COSGP) winter meeting, held Friday, January 17 at the Arizona College of Osteopathic Medicine of Midwestern University (AZCOM).

Brysen-Keith-120pxw Aubrey-Ingram-120pxw Caroline-Loyola-Clark-120pxw Alex Lalison
Hashir-Qamar-120pxw Nikki-Hamburger-120pxw
 Brysen Keith  Aubrey Ingram  Caroline L. Clark  Alex Lalison  Hashir Qamar  Nikki Hamburger

Positive Impact Award 

This award, given to a COSGP General Council member whose participation in the conference made a lasting positive impact on all members of the council, was presented to:

  • Brysen Keith, A.T. Still University—School of Osteopathic Medicine in Arizona (ATSU-SOMA)
  • Aubrey Ingram, AZCOM

Innovative Presentation Award 

The Innovative Presentation Award is given to COSGP General Council members for a school report that provided the most innovative content regarding practices and procedures at their institution. The January winners were:

  • second-year students Caroline Loyola Clark and Alex Lalison from the Alabama College of Osteopathic Medicine (ACOM) for their report, "Acquiring UWorld for the Student Body"
  • second-year students Hashir Qamar and Nikki Hamburger from Touro University College of Osteopathic Medicine—California (TUCOM-CA) for their report, "Student-Led Advisory Committee"

Outstanding Presentation Award

The Outstanding Presentation Award, which honors a COSGP General Council member for excellence in presentation content and delivery, was given to ACOM second-year student Alex Lalison for his presentation, "How to Make Your Story Fit."

Collaborative Presentation Award

Group photo of Collaborative Presentation awardeesMembers of the COSGP Legislative Affairs Committee were honored with the Collaborative Presentation Award for providing novel presentation styles and content in their legislative action toolkit. The award winners were (from left to right):

  • Katie Marney, Oklahoma State University Center for Health Sciences College of Osteopathic Medicine (OSUCOM)
  • Aubrey Ingram, AZCOM
  • Tyler Ramsey, Campbell University School of Osteopathic Medicine (CUSOM)
  • Sydney Stanley, Des Moines University College of Osteopathic Medicine (DMU-COM)
  • Danielle Souza, Edward Via College of Osteopathic Medicine—Carolinas (VCOM-Carolinas)
  • Sara Lohbauer, Committee Co-Chair, Lake Erie College of Osteopathic Medicine Bradenton Campus (LECOM Bradenton)
  • Annie Phung, Committee Co-Chair, Georgia Campus—Philadelphia College of Osteopathic Medicine (GA-PCOM)
  • Hashir Qamar, TUCOM-CA
  • Armando Moreno, University of Incarnate Word School of Osteopathic Medicine (UIWSOM)

Travel Grant Award 

During the 2020 COSGP Winter Research Symposium, the council also announced several Travel Grant Award winners. AACOM's Travel Grant Award is presented to students who conduct research so that they may attend and present their work at the next COSGP meeting. The most recent winners are:

  • Kate Buhrke, Idaho College of Osteopathic Medicine (ICOM)
  • Suyuan Tan, Kansas City University of Medicine and Biosciences College of Osteopathic Medicine (KCU-COM)
  • Ky Raymond, Touro University Nevada College of Osteopathic Medicine (TUNCOM)
  • Mustafa M Basree, University of Pikeville—Kentucky College of Osteopathic Medicine (UP-KYCOM)
  • Robert Tyler Morris, KCU-COM
  • Amanda Lauren Eisinger, New York Institute of Technology College of Osteopathic Medicine (NYITCOM)


January 30, 2020