This Section:

News & Events


ACGME Board Unanimously Approves Osteopathic Recognition & ONMM Program Requirements

February 10, 2015

On February 6-9, 2015, the ACGME Board of Directors held a historic meeting in Scottsdale, AZ, seating the AOA and AACOM nominees appointed by ACGME, for the first time. The DOs seated on the ACGME Board are:

  • Clinton Adams, DO (AACOM)
  • Gary Slick, DO (AACOM)
  • Karen J. Nichols, DO (AOA)
  • David Forstein, DO (AOA)

The ACGME Committee on Requirements (CoR), which reviews and makes recommendations to the ACGME Board on the approval of proposed new requirements and/or revisions to existing requirements, met during this 3-day assembly, and discussed the Osteopathic Recognition and Osteopathic Neuromusculoskeletal Medicine (ONMM) Requirements. AACOM’s President and CEO, Stephen C. Shannon, DO, MPH, provided testimony to the CoR on the proposed Osteopathic Recognition Requirements. AOA President, Robert Juhasz, DO, also provided testimony on these requirements.

On Monday, February 9, 2015, the ACGME Board of Directors unanimously voted to adopt both the ACGME Osteopathic Recognition Requirements (set by the Osteopathic Principles Committee) and the ONMM Requirements (set by the ONMM Review Committee).

The essence of osteopathic graduate medical education is now codified into ACGME program requirements. AOA and AACOM nominees to the ACGME Board have assumed their role as full participants in the governance of ACGME. Together, these developments mark the completion of a significant phase in the implementation of the single GME accreditation system.