This Section:

News & Events


Informational Student Webinar on the Single Graduate Medical Education Accreditation System

June 26, 2015

On Wednesday, June 24, 2015, AACOM hosted a webinar featuring speakers from the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME) and the American Osteopathic Association (AOA), designed to inform students at colleges of osteopathic medicine about the transition to the single graduate medical education accreditation system. Topics covered included:

  • Background and overview of the single GME accreditation system
  • Overview of the residency application process for DO students
  • Information on transitional year programs/traditional rotating internships during the transition
  • Resources available to guide students through the application process in the transition to the single accreditation system

Access the recording and materials from the webinar here.

Featured Speakers:

  • Boyd R. Buser, DO, Trustee, AOA, Vice President of Health Affairs and Dean of the University of Pikeville-Kentucky College of Osteopathic Medicine (UP-KYCOM)
  • Cheryl Gross, MA, CAE, Executive Director for Review Committees of Pathology, Radiation Oncology and Transitional Year, ACGME
  • Louis J. Ling, MD, Senior Vice President for Hospital-based Accreditation, ACGME
  • Lorenzo Pence, DO, Senior Vice President for Osteopathic Accreditation, ACGME
  • Stephen C. Shannon, DO, MPH, President & CEO, AACOM
  • Anne Gravel Sullivan, PhD, Executive Director for Transitional Year and Anesthesiology Review Committees, ACGME
For additional resources and updates on the transition to the single GME accreditation system, visit aacom.org/singlegmewww.acgme.org and osteopathic.org/singlegme