Call for AACOM 2016 Excellence in Communications Awards Entries

AACOM’s Excellence in Communications (EIC) Awards
are presented annually in honor of the outstanding marketing, public relations, writing, and design efforts of the nation’s colleges of osteopathic medicine (COMs).

 Each year, more than 100 entries are reviewed and award winners are chosen by an expert panel of judges—consisting of AACOM's Communications and Marketing team, AACOM senior staff members, and guest judges who specialize in all areas of communication—based on creativity and effectiveness in achieving the project's stated objective related to the mission of the submitting osteopathic medical school.

Entries are due January 22, 2016. Awardees will be notified by March 2016.

Submission Guidelines

Completed entry forms, required samples of project and a brief description of its objectives and outcomes, and a $30 submission fee are required for each entry. Payment may be made online through the AACOM online bookstore or sent as a check by mail. 

The required submission description for each entry must include the following sections:
  • Objective
  • Content Messaging
  • Content Deliverable
  • Results

Click here for more detailed submission instructions. ​

2016 Excellence in Communications Awards Program entries must be received by AACOM no later than January 22, 2016, and may be submitted by mail or by email. 
Get the entry form and instructions here

Entry Categories

         Advertising    Annual Report
  Feature Story or Article        Fundraising Campaign
  Magazine    Newsletter
   Recruitment Piece
  Social Media

Get detailed descriptions and submittal requirements for each EIC entry category here.


The panel of judges will be composed of successful communications professionals from the DC metro area specializing in different arenas of communications and marketing. Judging will take place in February. 

Entries will be adjudicated on level of excellence in: 

  • Concept
  • Content
  • Design
  • Creativity
  • Superiority of writing and editing
  • Final production quality
  • Overall effectiveness and brand alignment
  • Awards

    Highest scoring entries for each category will be selected as 2016 EIC awardees. The Excellence in Communications 'Best in Show' will also be selected from among the overall highest scoring entries of the 2016 program. 
    The Excellence in Communications Awards will be conferred at the Marketing and Communications (MAC) meeting during the AACOM 2016 Annual Conference in Washington, D.C. The EIC winning entries and the overall ‘Best in Show’ will be showcased and presented during the AACOM Annual Conference Awards Banquet on Friday, April 8, 2016.

    Contact Lindsey E. Jurd
    Senior Editor 
    Phone: (301) 968-4152
    Fax: (301) 968-4152