This Section:

News & Events


OHPF Class of 2022 Graduates in Washington, DC

August 01, 2022



After a year of virtual meetings, the American Association of Colleges of Osteopathic Medicine (AACOM)'s 2021-2022 class of the Osteopathic Health Policy Fellowship (OHPF) met for their final program session in Washington, DC, June 6-8, 2022. The visit to Washington was a welcome opportunity to finally gather in person and see the policy process at work, through Congress and the very consequential year-end decisions being handed down by the Supreme Court of the United States. The culminating event of the year included face to face issue discussions, capstone persuasive testimony sessions, meet-and-greet visits with Congressional members and several evening opportunities to socialize in person.  Fellows also took time to explore the area and everything Washington, DC has to offer.

It is with great pleasure that we announce the graduation of the following members of the OHPF Class of 2022. These individuals join the ranks of more than 270 osteopathic physicians and other healthcare professionals to complete the national program that prepares leaders to engage in the formulation, analysis and advocacy of policy that seeks to improve population health.

  • Craig Clark, DO – Clinical Research Medical Director, Novartis Pharmaceuticals, Des Moines, IA
  • Matthew Davis, DO, MBA – Medical Director and Emergency Department Chair, Beckley Appalachian Regional Healthcare Hospital, Beckley, WV
  • Christine Hartford, MD – Assistant Professor, Clinical Medicine (Pediatrics), New York Institute of Technology – Arkansas
  • Nicklaus Hess, DO – Adjunct Clinical Professor of Family Medicine and Assistant Dean, Ohio University Heritage College of Osteopathic Medicine; Chair of Family Medicine, Grandview Medical Center, Ohio
  • Traci Groening, DO – Assistant Professor, Obstetrics and Gynecology, Burrell College of Osteopathic Medicine, Las Cruces, NM
  • Timothy Kowalski, DO – Vice Provost for Professional and Public Affairs, Edward Via College of Osteopathic Medicine, Carolinas Campus
  • Elizabeth McMurtry, DO – Assistant Dean for Clinical Education and Faculty Development, Pacific Northwest University of Health Sciences; Emergency Medicine, Kadlec Regional Medical Center, Richland, WA
  • David Miller, DO, MS, MA – Family Physician, Family Health Services (FQHC), Burley, ID
  • Paul Scheatzle, DO, MS – Medical Director, Aultman Woodlawn Physical Rehabilitation Hospital, Canton, OH

Please join us in congratulating the OHPF Class of 2022!


About the OHPF

The Osteopathic Health Policy Fellowship is a year-long training program designed for osteopathic physicians and other individuals with an established connection to the profession to develop the skills they need to analyze, formulate and implement health policy on the local, state and national levels. If you have any questions about the program, please contact OHPF Co-Directors, Al Pheley, PhD, of the New York Institute of Technology College of Osteopathic Medicine (alpheley@gmail.com) and Dan Skinner, PhD, of Ohio University Heritage College of Osteopathic Medicine (skinnerd@ohio.edu).