National Academy of Osteopathic Medical Educators Names 2010 Fellows


March 2, 2010

Wendy Fernando
Phone: 301-968-4174

The American Association of College of Osteopathic Medicine has announced the 2010 Fellows for its National Academy of Osteopathic Medical Educators (NAOME): Matthew K. Henry, PhD, Associate Professor, Physiology & Pharmacology, Des Moines University College of Osteopathic Medicine, and Diane R. Karius, PhD, Director, Human Patient Simulations, and Associate Professor of Physiology, Kansas City University of Medicine and Biosciences College of Osteopathic Medicine. Drs. Henry and Karius demonstrated their educational scholarship in the category of Teaching and Evaluation through the creation of a mini-portfolio that reflected their educational philosophy and practice. They will be inducted into the NAOME at AACOM’s Awards Banquet on Friday, April 9, 2010, during the association’s Annual Meeting.

The NAOME was established in 2009 as the first national health professions education academy and was created to develop a community of outstanding osteopathic medical educators who have met rigorous standards of academic scholarship. NAOME’s portfolio-based standards of excellence are adapted from a faculty development model developed over a ten-year period at

Baylor College of Medicine. This model reflects a grounding in the literature regarding educational scholarship and a rigor and transparency in the selection process used to select Fellows. Academy Fellows are inducted for a five-year period, during which they serve as leaders and mentors for academic scholarship in the osteopathic medical education profession.

“We are confident,” said AACOM President Stephen C. Shannon, DO, MPH, “that the rigor of the application and selection processes will continue to create a core group of leaders whose collaboration will positively impact osteopathic medical education.” 

The American Association of Colleges of Osteopathic Medicine (AACOM) was founded in 1898 to support and assist the nation's osteopathic medical schools, and to serve as a unifying voice for osteopathic medical education. AACOM’s mission is to promote excellence in osteopathic medical education, in research and in service, and to foster innovation and quality among osteopathic colleges to improve the health of the American public.

For more information on NAOME, visit here.