AACOM Announces 2010 Award Recipients


April 13, 2010

Wendy Fernando
Phone: 301-968-4174

The American Association of Colleges of Osteopathic Medicine (AACOM) has announced the recipients of its 2010 Leadership and Student DO of the Year Awards. Hershey S. Bell, MD, MS, Vice President for Academic Affairs, Dean of the School of Pharmacy, Director of the Teaching and Learning Center and Clinical Professor of Family Medicine at Lake Erie College of Osteopathic Medicine, was presented with the William D. Miller Award. Each year, the AACOM Board of Deans honors one individual who has made a significant contribution to advancing the osteopathic profession. Dr. Bell was inaugurated last year as a member of the first class of AACOM’s National Academy of Osteopathic Medical Educators; his work on competency-based education in medical education has received international recognition.

AACOM President and Chief Executive Officer Stephen C. Shannon, DO, MPH, was honored with the 2010 Robert A. Kistner Award. Throughout Dr. Shannon’s career, he has displayed tireless dedication to osteopathic medical education. Prior to assuming the position of AACOM President in 2006, Dr. Shannon served as Vice President for Health Sciences and Dean of the College of Osteopathic Medicine at the University of New England. From July 2003 to June 2005,   Dr. Shannon served as Chair of the AACOM Board of Deans. He is board certified in preventive medicine and osteopathic family practice.

The National Student DO of the Year Award is given to an individual who has demonstrated leadership, commitment to community service, dedication to the osteopathic medical profession and embodiment of the osteopathic philosophy. This year, Sonbol Shahid-Salles, MPH, fourth-year osteopathic medical student at Pikeville College of Osteopathic Medicine, was honored as the National Student DO of the Year. Ms. Shahid-Salles has collaborated with the World Health Organization, the World Bank and the U.S. National Institutes of Health under the stewardship of the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation. She is the National Chair of AACOM’s Council of Osteopathic Student Government Presidents.

Recipients of AACOM’s 2010 Leadership and Student DO of the Year Awards were honored at an Awards Banquet on Friday, April 9, 2010, which was held during the recent 2010 AACOM Annual Meeting. In addition to these awards, the association honored a number of osteopathic medical educators and communications professionals for their excellent work. To view all of this year’s AACOM awards, please visit here.