AACOM Announces Award Recipients


April 19, 2011

Wendy Fernando
Vice President for Communications and Marketing
Phone: 301-968-4174

The American Association of Colleges of Osteopathic Medicine (AACOM) has announced the recipients of its 2010 Dale Dodson Award, 2011 Leadership Awards and 2011 Student DO of the Year Award.  Recipients were honored at the AACOM Awards Banquet on Friday, April 15, 2011, which was held during the association’s recent Annual Meeting. In addition to presenting these awards, the association honored a number of osteopathic medical educators and communications professionals for their excellent work. View all of this year’s AACOM awardees (pdf). 

The Dale Dodson Award

The Dale Dodson Award is named in memory of AOA past President and osteopathic medical education innovator Dale S. Dodson, DO, and recognizes a current or past CEO or CAO of an osteopathic medical college who has made a significant contribution to the advancement or support of osteopathic medical education. The 2010 recipient is Silvia M. Ferretti, DO, Provost, Senior Vice President and Dean of Academic Affairs at the Lake Erie College of Osteopathic Medicine (LECOM). Dr. Ferretti has served in her current role since LECOM’s founding in 1993, and was the first woman to become Dean of an osteopathic medical college.

The William D. Miller Award

The William D. Miller Award is given to individuals who make an outstanding contribution to advancing the osteopathic profession. This year’s recipient is Stephen Winn. Mr. Winn is a veteran legislative and government affairs consultant and has been associated with the osteopathic profession for more than 40 years. He has been the Executive Director of the Florida Osteopathic Medical Association since 1984, and played an important role in helping to ensure that DOs became fully recognized in Florida and beyond.

The Robert A. Kistner Award

The Robert A. Kistner Award is named for Dr. Kistner, who served at the Chicago College of Osteopathic Medicine for 26 years, and is presented to an individual who has made a significant contribution to osteopathic medical education. This year’s recipient is Philip C. Slocum, DO. The immediate past Dean of the A.T. Sill University of Health Sciences – Kirksville College of Osteopathic Medicine, Dr. Slocum is a transformational academic leader known throughout the osteopathic medical education community for creating new curricula, managing change, developing fundraising support and developing community relations.

The National Student DO of the Year Award

The recipient of the National Student DO of the Year Award is selected from among the outstanding students selected by their school as Student of the Year on the basis of their service to their college, their community and the osteopathic profession. This year’s Student DO of the Year is Brian Huggins, a fourth-year student at the West Virginia School of Osteopathic Medicine. Brian has served as Class President, Student Government Association President, and student representative to the WV State Osteopathic Society.


Additional Information

View past AACOM Award Winners