Osteopathic Medical Education Leaders, Educators, and Students Receive National Awards


April 2, 2012

Contact Information:
Wendy Fernando
Vice President for Communications and Marketing
(301) 968-4174

The American Association of Colleges of Osteopathic Medicine (AACOM) has announced the recipients of its 2012 Robert A. Kistner Award, SOME Innovation in Medical Education Awards, Student DO of the Year Award and Best in Show Communications Award. Recipients were honored at the AACOM Awards Banquet on Friday, March 30, which was held during the association’s Annual Meeting in Washington, DC.

The Robert A. Kistner Award is named for Dr. Kistner, who served at the Chicago College of Osteopathic Medicine for 26 years, and is presented to an individual who has made a significant contribution to osteopathic medical education. This year’s recipient is John M. Ferretti, DO (at left). Dr. Ferretti, President, CEO, and co-founder of the Lake Erie College of Osteopathic Medicine (LECOM), has made substantial contributions to both the education of the next generation of physicians and improving health care for the underserved. Under his leadership, LECOM has become the largest medical college in the United States.

AACOM’s Society of Osteopathic Medical Educators (SOME) Innovation in Medical Education Awards recognize the year’s educational innovations that have resulted in meaningful change at the developer’s institution. The 2012 awardees include Richard A. Ortoski, DO, Professor and Chair of Primary Care Education at LECOM, for his development of an Enrichment Module for Humanism in Medicine, and Mark A. W. Andrews, PhD, Professor of Physiology and Director of Examination Management at LECOM, for his development of Assessing Basic Medical Science Knowledge During Preclinical Years, and Beyond.

AACOM’s National Student DO of the Year Award is presented each year to the one osteopathic medical student who distinguishes him/herself from all of the nation’s outstanding students on the basis of service to the college, the community and the osteopathic profession. This year’s Student DO of the Year is Roberto J. Fernandez, MPH, (at left) a third-year medical student at Des Moines University College of Osteopathic Medicine (DMU-COM). Mr. Fernandez currently serves as the National Legislative Affairs Representative for the Council of Osteopathic Student Government Presidents (COSGP), the National Student Representative to the American Osteopathic Association (AOA) Council on Osteopathic Post Graduate Training Institutes (COPTI), his class representative to the DMU Alumni Association, and as the Founder and Chair of the COSGP Global Health Ad-Hoc Committee.

Finally, each year AACOM works with external expert judges to select for recognition outstanding communications efforts undertaken by its member colleges, and then selects a Best in Show entry to which special recognition is provided. The A.T. Still University’s Corporate Brand Video earned this year’s Best in Show distinction.

The American Association of Colleges of Osteopathic Medicine promotes excellence in osteopathic medical education, in research and in service, and fosters innovation and quality among osteopathic medical colleges to improve the health of the American public.