AACOM Welcomes Three New Member Colleges


May 2, 2012

Contact Information:
Wendy Fernando
Vice President for Communications and Marketing
(301) 968-4174

The leadership and Board of Deans of the American Association of Colleges of Osteopathic Medicine (AACOM) are pleased to welcome three new colleges of osteopathic medicine as members of AACOM. The three colleges are now available to students applying through AACOMAS (AACOM’s centralized application service) for 2013 entry into osteopathic medical school.

The three new colleges of osteopathic medicine and their respective deans include:

  • Alabama College of Osteopathic Medicine (Dothan, AL) 
    Craig J. Lenz, DO, FAODME, Founding Dean
  • Campbell University School of Osteopathic Medicine (Buies Creek, NC) 
    John M. Kauffman Jr., DO, Founding Dean
  • Marian University College of Osteopathic Medicine (Indianapolis, IN) 
    Paul Evans, DO, Vice President, Founding Dean

With the addition of these new schools, there are now 29 U.S. colleges of osteopathic medicine (COMs), four branch campuses, and four additional teaching locations. Currently, more than 20 percent of medical students in the United States are earning their degrees at one of the nation’s COMs.

The American Association of Colleges of Osteopathic Medicine promotes excellence in osteopathic medical education, in research and in service, and fosters innovation and quality among osteopathic medical colleges to improve the health of the American public.

Quote from Dr. Stephen C. Shannon, President and CEO, American Association of Colleges of Osteopathic Medicine:

"We are proud of the growth of U.S. osteopathic medical education, and welcome these three new schools to AACOM. Osteopathic medicine, with its traditional community-based primary care and prevention focus, has an important role to play in ensuring that our nation’s health care system has the type of physicians that we need. Osteopathic medical education is pleased to provide leadership in this important area."