Thomas E. McWilliams, DO, Appointed to Federal Advisory Committee

Three DOs to Serve on HRSA Committee on Primary Care


June 10, 2016

Liane Weissenberger
Advocacy and Public Affairs Manager

WASHINGTON, DC — The U.S. Health and Human Services (HHS) Secretary Sylvia M. Burwell has appointed Thomas E. McWilliams, DO, Senior Advisor to the Dean on Graduate Medical Education, A.T. Still University of Health Sciences School of Osteopathic Medicine in Arizona (ATSU-SOMA) to serve on the HHS Health Resources and Services Administration’s (HRSA) Advisory Committee on Training in Primary Care Medicine and Dentistry (ACTPCMD).

One of three DOs appointed to this committee, Dr. McWilliams, a third generation DO, was nominated by the American Association of Colleges of Osteopathic Medicine (AACOM) for his demonstrated commitment to advancing innovation in medical education, primary care, and rural health. Dr. McWilliams will join Teshina Wilson, DO, and John Sealey, DO, both nominated by the American Osteopathic Association in a coordinated effort with AACOM to strengthen the osteopathic medical profession’s representation.

“I am grateful for the opportunity to serve on this important committee, and I look forward to working with my esteemed colleagues on increasing best practices among primary care training to improve health outcomes and patient care,” said Dr. McWilliams.

In addition to his role as Senior Advisor to the Dean, Dr. McWilliams also serves as a Professor of Emergency Medicine/Family Medicine at ATSU-SOMA. He previously served for 10 years as the founding Associate Dean of ATSU-SOMA and the Arizona College of Osteopathic Medicine of Midwestern University.

AACOM President and CEO, Stephen C. Shannon, DO, MPH, stated, “The Advisory Committee on Training in Primary Care Medicine and Dentistry will benefit greatly from Dr. McWilliams’ passion and dedication to primary care and rural health. AACOM is proud to see three distinguished members of the osteopathic medical community elevated to this critical advisory position.”

Established by HHS in 1998, ACTPCMD makes recommendations to the Secretary and prepares and submits reports to Congress concerning policy, program development, and other important matters related to the HRSA Bureau of Health Workforce, including family medicine, general internal medicine, general pediatrics, general dentistry, pediatric dentistry, and physician assistant programs. More information about ACTPCMD can be found here.


The American Association of Colleges of Osteopathic Medicine (AACOM) represents the 33 accredited colleges of osteopathic medicine in the United States. These colleges are accredited to deliver instruction at 48 teaching locations in 31 states. In the 2015-16 academic year, these colleges are educating over 26,100 future physicians—more than 20 percent of all U.S. medical students. Six of the colleges are public and 27 are private institutions.

AACOM was founded in 1898 to support and assist the nation's osteopathic medical schools, and to serve as a unifying voice for osteopathic medical education. AACOM’s mission is to promote excellence in osteopathic medical education, in research and in service, and to foster innovation and quality among osteopathic medical colleges to improve the health of the American public.