IAMSE Recognizes Osteopathic Medical Educator with Master Teacher Award for First Time


June 16, 2016


Paul DeMiglio
Senior Media Specialist

(Washington, DC) – The 2016 International Association of Medical Science Educators (IAMSE) conference (“Learning Assessment: Connecting Health Science and Clinical Competence”) was held in Leiden, Netherlands, June 4-7, drawing students, staff, and faculty worldwide to learn about developments in medical science education. As an international association, IAMSE promotes science as the basis for medical practice by embracing the diversity of the health profession across cultural, geographic, and political boundaries.

IAMSE bestows two of the following awards at its conference each year:

  • The Master Scholar Award to an IAMSE member who is distinguished by their research and approach to teaching and education; and
  • The Master Teacher Award to a medical teacher who embodies excellence in teaching within their institution and is an active member in the annual IAMSE meetings or web seminars.

This year’s Master Teacher Award was presented to Dr. Bruce W. Newton, Anatomy Department Chair and professor of human gross anatomy, neuroanatomy, embryology, and histology at the Campbell University Jerry M. Wallace School of Osteopathic Medicine (CUSOM). This is the first time that a teacher affiliated with a U.S. college of osteopathic medicine (COM) has been recognized with this honor since IAMSE established the Master Teacher Award program in 2007. Dr. Newton’s contributions have brought international and interprofessional attention to the field of osteopathic medical education (OME) and practice.

“It is with great pride that we extend congratulations to Dr. Bruce Newton for being named as the recipient of IAMSE’s prestigious Master Teacher Award,” said Stephen C. Shannon, President and CEO of the American Association of Colleges of Osteopathic Medicine (AACOM). “As the first representative from an osteopathic institution to receive this award, Dr. Newton represents the growing positive impact that our exceptional osteopathic medical educators are having on the rapidly changing health care landscape – both nationally and abroad.”

Dr. Newton has worked at CUSOM since 2013. Prior to CUSOM, Dr. Newton spent 25 years teaching at the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences in Little Rock, AR, where he served as Director for the Division of Anatomical Education, Professor of Neurobiology and Developmental Sciences, and Professor of Education Development. While in Arkansas he co-wrote the book How to be an Effective Course Director with two fellow IAMSE members. He earned his BS in Biology from Slippery Rock University, and his PhD in Anatomy from the University of Kentucky in Lexington.



The American Association of Colleges of Osteopathic Medicine (AACOM) represents the 33 accredited colleges of osteopathic medicine in the United States. These colleges are accredited to deliver instruction at 48 teaching locations in 31 states. In the 2015-16 academic year these colleges are educating over 26,100 future physicians—more than 20 percent of all U.S. medical students. Six of the colleges are public and 27 are private institutions.

AACOM was founded in 1898 to support and assist the nation's osteopathic medical schools, and to serve as a unifying voice for osteopathic medical education. AACOMprovides leadership for the osteopathic medical education community by promoting excellence in medical education, research and service, and by fostering innovation and quality across the continuum of osteopathic medical education to improve the health of the American public.