This Section:

News & Events

Press Releases

COSGP Announces 2017 National Awardees


February 28, 2017

The American Association of Colleges of Osteopathic Medicine (AACOM) Council of Osteopathic Student Government Presidents (COSGP) has recently announced the winners of its National Student DO of the Year (SDOY) and National Student Researcher of the Year (SROY) awards.

National Student DO of the Year

Daniel EbbsThe National SDOY award is presented each year to one osteopathic medical student who demonstrates superior leadership capabilities, robust research experience, and a strong commitment to community service. This year’s National SDOY is Daniel S. Ebbs,MS, osteopathic medical student at the A.T. Still University School of Osteopathic Medicine in Arizona (ATSU-SOMA).

Mr. Ebbs has a broad range of experience and achievements in leadership, policy, and service from throughout his medical student career and beyond. In the past three years, he has served as president of both the Student Osteopathic Medical Association (SOMA) and the Gold Humanism Honors Society (GHHS), as well as founded the ATSU-SOMA Annual Resolutions Committee, among many other accolades. It is through his commitment to leadership and service, as well as his exemplary accomplishments, that Mr. Ebbs embodies the spirit of osteopathic medicine.

National Student Researcher of the Year

John CebakThe National SROY award recognizes an osteopathic medical student researcher with highly-competitive experiences in clinical, translational, or basic science research, and who has been influential in advancing osteopathic medicine. The 2017 National SROY is First Lieutenant John E. Cebak, PhD, osteopathic medical student at the Lincoln Memorial University-DeBusk College of Osteopathic Medicine (LMU-DCOM).

Dr. Cebak's research has been published in several scholarly journals and books, and he has presented his work on traumatic brain injury at events for both Michigan State University (MSU) and the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA). Through his extensive military training, numerous studies, medical education and teaching experience, and various certifications and awards, Dr. Cebak demonstrates an outstanding aptitude for research and leadership, as well as an innate ambition to empower the osteopathic medical profession.

National SROY Honorable Mentions

Eric Goldwasser, Rowan University School of Osteopathic Medicine (RowanSOM)
Alexander Zhu, Des Moines University College of Osteopathic Medicine (DMU-COM)


The Council of Osteopathic Student Government Presidents (COSGP) is an official council of the American Association of College of Osteopathic Medicine (AACOM). The Council was established in 1972 and was originally known as the Council of Student Presidents.

COSGP serves as the official national representative voting voice of all osteopathic medical students. Its members work to maintain communication, disseminate information, foster student leadership, and provide a mechanism for the exchange of ideas between students of different colleges of osteopathic medicine.