Dr. Clinton E. Adams Receives AACOM’s Dale Dodson Award

The AACOM Assembly of Presidents (AOP) recently awarded Clinton E. Adams, DO, MPA, FACHE, Vice President for Clinical Affairs and Dean, Western University of Health Sciences/College of Osteopathic Medicine of the Pacific, with the Dale Dodson Award at the Assembly’s annual Awards Luncheon during the AOA OMED Conference. The award isnamed in memory of osteopathic medical education innovator Dale S. Dodson, DO, and recognizes a current or past CEO or CAO of an osteopathic medical college who has made a significant contribution to the advancement or support of osteopathic medical education.

Dr. Adams joined WesternU in 2005 as Dean of the College of Osteopathic Medicine of the Pacific. He recently led the establishment of the Northwest Branch of WesternU/COMP in Lebanon, Oregon. Among his many other achievements, Dr. Adams served a vital role in establishing a vision for interprofessional education (IPE) at Western University. The university’s IPE program now works to join Western’s nine disciplines of study into one community of shared learning and service.

Prior to joining Western University, Dr. Adams served as a Physician and Senior Health Care Administrator in the United States Navy. As a Rear Admiral of the Navy, he most recently served as Command Surgeon, United States Fleet Forces Command, Command Surgeon, Allied Command for Transformation (NATO), and Command Surgeon, United States Joint Forces Command, all joint postings he held in Norfolk, Virginia, from 2002 to 2005. Dr. Adams previously had three hospital commands in Beaufort, SC; Naples, Italy; and Portsmouth Regional Naval Medical Center, Virginia.

Dr. Adams received his Master of Public Administration from the University of Oklahoma, and his DO from the Chicago College of Osteopathic Medicine.

AACOM President Stephen C. Shannon, DO, MPH, presented the award to Dr. Adams on behalf of the AOP, saying that Dr. Adams “has exemplified the spirit of the Dodson Award throughout his years as a visionary leader, innovative medical educator, and tireless medical education advocate.”

Inside OME Header
November 2011
Vol. 5, No. 11