AACOM President to Receive Riland Medal of Public Service

In recognition of his leadership in medical education, Dr. Shannon will receive the Riland Medal during the New York Institute of Technology’s (NYIT) Osteopathic Medicine and Health Professions Student Convocation on September 12, 2011. The medal, NYIT’s highest award, is named in honor of New York College of Osteopathic Medicine (NYCOM) Trustee W. Kenneth Riland, DO, whose efforts contributed to the founding of NYCOM. This year’s five Riland Medal recipients are being recognized for their significant contributions to the enhancement of the health care workforce, medical education, health policy, community advocacy, osteopathic philosophy, research, academic leadership and graduate medical education. The other recipients include: Roger J. Bulger, MD, former President of the Association of Academic Health Centers and former Executive Officer of the Institute of Medicine of the National Academy of Sciences; Robyn L. Golden, MA, LCSW, Director of Older Adult Programs, Rush University Medical Center; Eugene Oliveri, DO, MS, former President of the American Osteopathic Association; and Kavita Patel, MD, MS, Managing Director of Delivery System Reform and Clinical Transformation, Engelberg Center for Health Care Reform at the Brookings Institution.
Inside OME Header
September 2011
Vol. 5, No. 9