IPEC Wins Interdisciplinary Group Recognition Award; Still Accepting Resource Submissions 


The Interprofessional Education Collaborative (IPEC) recently received the Interdisciplinary Group Recognition Award from the National Academies of Practice (NAP) at the NAP Annual Meeting. The award was given in recognition of IPEC’s collaborative work to promote wide adoption and implementation of the Core Competencies for Interprofessional Collaborative Practice, and the impact the report is making across the professional learning continuum; its key sponsorship of the Collaborating Across Borders III conference held in Arizona last November; and its sponsorship of the newly initiated Institute of Medicine Forum on Innovations in Health Professions Education.

Dr. Harrison Spencer, President and CEO of the Association of Schools of Public Health, accepted the award on behalf of IPEC.

IPEC works as a collaborative effort to promote interprofessional learning experiences that support team-based patient- and community-centered health care. IPEC includes six national health professions education associations: The American Association of Colleges of Osteopathic Medicine (AACOM), American Association of Colleges of Nursing (AACN), American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy (AACP), Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC), American Dental Education Association (ADEA), and the Association of Schools of Public Health (ASPH).

IPEC is currently accepting submissions for competency-based learning and assessment resources, in support of the Core Competencies for Interprofessional Collaborative Practice report. Funded in part by the Josiah Macy Jr., Foundation, this initiative is designed to create a national clearinghouse of competency-linked learning resources for interprofessional education and models of team-based or collaborative care.

The resulting collection will be hosted through MedEdPORTAL, an online peer-reviewed repository that adheres to the full standards of professional scholarship guidelines. Accepted applicants will receive a $2,000 development award and must participate in a required online MedEdPORTAL training webinar on educational scholarship.  

Award applications are due Friday, May 25, 2012, at 5:00 pm (EDT); applicants will be notified of funding decisions by June 18, 2012. To apply online, visit:


Inside OME Header
April / May 2012
Vol. 6, No. 4 / 5