Five osteopathic medical students have been selected to receive 2012 Sherry R. Arnstein Minority Student Scholarships.

AACOM congratulates first-year osteopathic medical students Rafel Hamilton Alvarez, Oklahoma State University Center for Health Sciences-College of Osteopathic Medicine (OSU-COM); Ashela Bean, Georgia Campus-Philadelphia College of Osteopathic Medicine (GA-PCOM); Joseph Marquez, Western University of Health Sciences/College of Osteopathic Medicine of the Pacific (Western U/COMP); and Che M. Torry, Edward Via College of Osteopathic Medicine - Virginia Campus (VCOM-VC); and continuing osteopathic medical student Nicholas Cal, University of New England College of Osteopathic Medicine (UNECOM). This year, each awardee received $2,000 in scholarship funding.

Each year, at least one new osteopathic medical student and one continuing osteopathic medical student are chosen through a competitive application process to receive a Sherry R. Arnstein Minority Student Scholarship. Named after former AACOM Executive Director Sherry R. Arnstein, the program recognizes and supports underrepresented minority students at AACOM’s member colleges of osteopathic medicine.

For more information on the scholarship program, visit the Sherry R. Arnstein Minority Student Scholarship web page.








Inside OME Header
September 2012
Vol. 6, No. 9