AACN Awards IPEC Founders with Inaugural Geraldine “Polly” Bednash Lectureship Award

On Sunday, March 22, the American Association of Colleges of Nursing (AACN) honored AACOM President and CEO Stephen C. Shannon, DO, MPH, along with fellow founding members of the Interprofessional Education Collaborative (IPEC), with the Geraldine “Polly” Bednash Lectureship Award at the AACN 2015 Spring Annual Meeting in Washington, DC. The award was conferred in recognition of IPEC’s leadership and scholarly contributions to interprofessional education.

Four of the six founding members of IPEC, including Dr. Shannon, served as panel speakers at the conference where they shared their thoughts on leadership and pragmatic insights, as well as lessons learned while developing IPEC.

The Bednash Lectureship Award was established in March 2014 to honor the AACN’s previous CEO, Geraldine “Polly” Bednash, PhD, RN, for her distinguished record of service in leading the association for 28 years (1989-2014). Award recipients are chosen by the AACN Board of Directors on the basis of their scholarship and the notability of their contributions to nursing, health care, higher education, and interprofessional education.

For more information, visit the AACN website

Inside OME Header
April/May 2015
Vol. 9, No. 4/5