New Health Professions Accreditors Collaborative (HPAC) Forms to Stimulate Interprofessional Engagement

In an effort to strengthen ties across health professions and better provide integrated healthcare for the public good, several of the nation’s leading accrediting agencies have announced the formation of Health Professions Accreditors Collaborative (HPAC). Members of HPAC include the:

  • Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education (ACPE)
  • Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education (CCNE)
  • Commission on Dental Accreditation (CODA)
  • Commission on Osteopathic College Accreditation (COCA)
  • Council on Education for Public Health (CEPH)
  • Liaison Committee for Medical Education (LCME)

HPAC members are committed to discussing important developments in interprofessional education (IPE) and exploring opportunities to engage in collaborative projects. HPAC will communicate with stakeholders around issues in IPE with the common goal to better prepare students to engage in interprofessional collaborative practice.

HPAC members agreed that the definition of IPE and competency domains are fundamental to the educational programs of those health professions accredited by the HPAC members. The core competencies for health profession students are identified in the Interprofessional Education Collaborative (IPEC) report.

The participating agencies will meet regularly and host meetings on a rotating schedule. It is anticipated that as HPAC evolves and develops activities, additional members from other health care accreditation organizations would join. HPAC will respect the independence of accreditation standards, procedures, and decision-making of each participating accrediting agency.

Inside OME Header
January 2015
Vol. 9, No. 1