AACOM's governing body, the Board of Deans (BOD), determines policies for and manages the affairs and activities of the association. The BOD Executive Committee works to develop academic standards, studies, and programs in areas important to osteopathic medical education.

Thomas Boyle, DO, has been appointed to serve as the officer to represent the Chicago College of Osteopathic Medicine at Midwestern University (CCOM/MWU) on AACOM’s BOD, effective January 1, 2015. Dr. Boyle assumed the role in place of Karen J. Nichols, DO, MA, MACOI, CS, former BOD Committee Vice Chair, who stepped down from her position on the BOD to take on her new role at the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME).

Changes to the AACOM Board of Deans as a result of Dr. Nichols appointment to the ACGME Board include Thomas A. Cavalieri, DO, Dean of the Rowan University School of Osteopathic Medicine (RowanSOM) taking over the position of Vice Chair and William D. Strampel, DO, Dean of the Michigan State University College of Osteopathic Medicine (MSUCOM) assuming the role of Secretary/Treasurer.

The AOA nominated and the ACGME elected Dr. Nichols to the ACGME Board of Directors.  Dr. Nichols is one of four osteopathic physicians that joined the ACGME Board as a result of the ACGME, AOA and AACOM agreement to implement a single accreditation system for GME.

Dr. Nichols is the Dean of CCOM/MWU, and a former and first female president of the AOA. She is an influential advocate for end-of-life care, and has spoken around the country educating physicians and healthcare professionals about the issue.

AACOM extends its well wishes to Dr. Nichols and congratulates her for her professional accomplishments and leadership at AACOM, and welcomes Dr. Boyle to the BOD.

Guided by the BOD, AACOM staff work in concert with a variety of member-based groups in pursuit of the organization’s mission and strategic goals. 

Inside OME Header
January 2015
Vol. 9, No. 1