AACOM recently hosted its third annual Council Leadership Meeting under the direction of AACOM President and CEO Stephen C. Shannon, DO, MPH, and facilitated by AACOM consultant Josh Mintz, President, Cavanaugh, Hagen, Pierson, & Mintz, Inc. The meeting was held December 1-2 at AACOM’s headquarters in Chevy Chase, MD. With the goals of encouraging inter-council collaboration, discussing the status of AACOM’s key strategic planning, and looking at the future role of the association, AACOM council chairs, staff liaisons, and invited presenters gathered for two days of guided discussions. 

On Monday, December 1, Dr. Shannon opened the meeting with welcoming remarks and introductions, followed by a brief AACOM State of Affairs presentation delivered by both Dr. Shannon and Board of Deans Representative (and Immediate Past Chair of the Board) Provost/Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs and Dean of Philadelphia College of Osteopathic Medicine (PCOM) Kenneth Veit, DO.

Next, Dr. Shannon delivered the 2015 Council Focus Statement, which highlighted framing osteopathic medical education as a preferred pathway and positing AACOM as an advocacy-driven association. Small and large group discussions were initiated to identify ways the councils can contribute to achieving these goals. These conversations provided a basis for the committee's work regarding the association's future projects and initiatives.

After lunch, the group focused its discussions on graduate medical education (GME), led primarily by presentations from Dr. Shannon; AACOM Vice President and Chair for Medical Education Luke Mortensen, PHD; AACOM Associate Vice President for Medical Education Tyler Cymet, DO; and AACOM Program Manager Alegneta Long. The group received updates on and discussed the current transition to a single GME accreditation system, competency-based education and evaluation, and opportunities for council engagement with these pertinent issues.

The afternoon ended with a review of the day, meeting outcomes, and housekeeping items.

The meeting resumed on Tuesday, December 2 at the AACOM Office with greetings and agenda from Dr. Shannon and Luke Mortensen, followed by 5-minute updates by the following departments:

  • Government Relations - Mary-Lynn Bender, Director of Congressional Affairs
  • Communications - Lisa Cole, MBA, Vice President, and Lindsey Jurd, Senior Editor
  • Medical Education - Luke Mortensen, PhD, Vice President and Chair
  • Research - Tom Levitan, MEd, Vice President, Research and Assistant to the President
  • AACOMAS - John Roane, Chief Operating Officer
  • Infrastructure - John Roane

The group then heard updates from the Educational Council on Osteopathic Principles (ECOP), Council of Osteopathic Librarians (COOL), Council of Osteopathic Researchers (COR), Marketing and Communications Advisory Council (MAC), Society of Osteopathic Medical Educators (SOME), the Council for Information Technology (CIT), Council of Fiscal Officers (CFO), Council of Osteopathic Medical Student Services Officers (COMSSO), Council of Osteopathic Student Government Presidents (COSGP), Council of Osteopathic Medical Admissions Officers (COMAO), Council of Student Financial Aid Administrators (CSFAA), and the Council of Development and Alumni Relations Professionals (Dev-Alum).

A group photo was then taken, and the group reconvened for “AACOMmunities 2.0 Key Tips and Q&A,” presented by Lisa Etienne, Manager of Digital Initiatives. Ms. Etienne’s presentation provided attendees with an update on opportunities to further advance use of the AACOMmunities tool for council work which led to a discussion on expanding current usage.

Next, a presentation about AACOM’s new website was given by Ms. Cole and Ms. Etienne.

To close the meeting, Dr. Mortensen delivered the day in review, meeting outcomes, and housekeeping items from the day. 

Inside OME Header
January 2015
Vol. 9, No. 1