Council of Osteopathic Student Government Presidents (COSGP)

On the morning of Wednesday, July 15, the 2015-16 Executive Board of the Council of Osteopathic Student Government Presidents (COSGP) convened under the leadership of National Chair Breanne Hirshman, osteopathic medical student at A.T. Still University-School of Osteopathic Medicine in Arizona (ATSU-SOMA), in conjunction with the American Osteopathic Association (AOA) Annual Business Meeting in Chicago, IL. This was the first official meeting of the new 2015-16 COSGP Executive Board, during which AACOM President and CEO Stephen C. Shannon welcomed and addressed the council officers. 

Representatives from AACOM’s Government Relations Department—Vice President of Government Relations, Pamela Murphy, MSW, and Director of Congressional Affairs, Mary-Lynn Bender—provided the COSGP Board with a Legislative Update and Advocacy 101 presentation. AACOM Associative Vice President for Medical Education and Chief of Clinical Medical Education Tyler Cymet, DO, also delivered a presentation about the future of medicine entitled, “The Role of the Physician in the Future.”

Student representatives from their respective colleges of osteopathic medicine (COMs) provided school reports, followed by school discussions and a “Social Media Break.”

Student Osteopathic Medical Association (SOMA) National President Gina Routh also greeted the council, which was proceeded by a “DO Day of Compassion” presentation by COSGP Programs Representative Kelly Mackessy. COSGP American Osteopathic Foundation (AOF) Representative Sarah Wolff also presented “AOF and YOU” during the meeting.

Following lunch, a series of presentations in a variety of topics related to osteopathic medicine and education were delivered including:

  • Communication—COSGP National First Vice Chair Jessica Palmieri
  • AOA Leadership Update—AOA Executive Director and CEO Adrienne White-Faines, MPA
  • TOUCH Website—COSGP Programs Representative Kelly Mackessy, and Matt Palilonis
  • School Discussions
  • NBOME Update—NBOME President and CEO John Gimpel, DO, MEd
  • NOSC Parliamentary Procedure, AOA House of Delegates, and Resolutions Writing—Speaker of the AOA House of Delegates (HOD) Ray Morrison, DO

The next COSGP Executive Board Retreat will be held September 18-20, 2015, at the AACOM headquarters in Chevy Chase, MD, followed by the fall council meeting in October during the AOA’s OMED 2015 conference in Orlando, FL. 

Council of Student Financial Aid Administrators (CSFAA)

The Council of Student Financial Aid Administrators (CSFAA) arranged a conference call on Thursday, July 9 under the leadership of Council Chair Steven Jorden, Director of Student Financial Services at A.T. Still University-Kirksville College of Osteopathic Medicine (ATSU-KCOM). The meeting began with welcome and introductions, followed by a discussion led by Mr. Jorden and AACOM Vice President of Government Relations Pamela Murphy, MSW, about the Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC) Professional Development Conference (PDC) for Health Professions Financial Aid Administrators.

Ms. Murphy and AACOM Director of Congressional Affairs Mary-Lynn Bender also presented on the AACOM-sponsored financial aid training modules for osteopathic medical students and discussed with the council next steps regarding the 2015 launch. In addition, Ms. Murphy and Ms. Bender provided a legislative and regulatory update to the council regarding the reauthorization of the Higher Education Act (HEA); the U.S. Department of Education’s REPAYE request for public comment; status on Senate-House FY16 Labor-HHS-Education appropriations bills; and AACOM’s work with the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) to further increase awareness in the osteopathic medical education (OME) community about loan repayment programs.

The next CSFAA meeting will be held via conference call in October.

Inside OME Header
July/August 2015
Vol. 9, No. 7/8