ATSU-SOMA Names Acting Dean

A.T. Still University (ATSU) recently named Jeffrey Morgan, DO, MA, as Acting Dean of the ATSU School of Osteopathic Medicine in Arizona (ATSU-SOMA), effective June 5, 2015. As a general internist and Fellow of the American College of Osteopathic Internists, Dr. Morgan joined ATSU-SOMA in July 2013 as Associate Professor of Internal Medicine & Public Health. He currently serves as Chair of Clinical Science Education, Chair of the Student (Academic) Performance Committee, and is Acting Director of the Clinical Education Department. Dr. Morgan is a graduate of Michigan State University’s College of Osteopathic Medicine, Past President of the Arizona Osteopathic Medical Association (AOMA), and currently serves as Speaker of the House of Delegates for the same association. In 2013, he was honored as AOMA Physician of the Year.

UP-KYCOM President Resigns

The University of Pikeville-Kentucky College of Osteopathic Medicine (UP-KYCOM) and James L. Hurley, EdD, jointly announced that Dr. Hurley has resigned from his position as president of the university, effective April 2, 2015, due to personal reasons. Under Dr. Hurley’s leadership, the university experienced record growth, added a college of business, college of education, and a college of optometry, and created public-private and global education partnerships. Former Kentucky Governor Paul Patton, current chancellor and past president of the University of Pikeville, will serve as interim president. The university’s board of trustees has initiated a national search for a new president; the search is ongoing. 

Western U/COMP President to Retire

The Western University of Health Sciences/College of Osteopathic Medicine of the Pacific (Western U/COMP) recently held its 2015 Commencement ceremonies, which also marked Western U/COMP Founding President Philip Pumerantz’s, PhD, final commencement ceremony as president. During the ceremony, Dr. Pumerantz accepted a flag flown over the U.S. Capitol in Washington, DC provided by California Sen. Dianne Feinstein’s office and presented by Captain Ha C. Tang, DO, of the U.S. Public Health Service. That presentation was followed by a proclamation celebrating the President’s accomplishments, authored and signed by Western U/COMP Dean Paula Crone, DO, and GCBS Dean Michel Baudry, PhD. On April 3, President Pumerantz announced his plans to retire on September 8 of this year—exactly 34 years to the day that Western U/COMP opened for business in 1982. The search for Western U/COMP’s next president is underway. 

Inside OME Header
June 2015
Vol. 9, No. 6