UPIKE Names 21st President

The University of Pikeville Board of Trustees recently announced the appointment of Burton J. Webb, PhD, as the institution’s next president. The Board’s decision was unanimous, according to Chairman Terry Dotson, who characterized Dr. Webb as the “21st president for the 21st Century.”

“Burton has the vision and leadership skills to lead us into the next decade. He understands the role the university will play, not only in the future development of education in our region, but in the future role of economic growth for our community,” Dotson said.

Dr. Webb, who currently serves as the vice president for academic affairs at Northwest Nazarene University in Nampa, Idaho, will take office on January 1, 2016. One of three finalists following a nationwide search, Webb is an experienced administrator, scientist and teacher-scholar with an accomplished career in higher education.

In Memoriam: William F. Morris, DO

The Campbell University Jerry M. Wallace School of Osteopathic Medicine (CUSOM) recently announced the passing of William F. Morris, DO, Founding Chair of the Department of Osteopathic Manipulative Medicine on November 4, 2015.

In the fall of 2012, Dr. Morris came to CUSOM and developed the osteopathic manipulative medicine (OMM) curriculum for the new medical school. As Chair of Osteopathic Manipulative Medicine at CUSOM, Dr. Morris designed a curriculum that not only ignited a passion for the profession in his students, and also received praise for its excellence from the national accrediting body, the American Osteopathic Association (AOA)’s Commission on Osteopathic College Accreditation (COCA).

Dr. Morris mentored CUSOM students through the process of establishing a student-run free clinic, the Campbell Community Care Clinic, and established an OMM Teaching Assistant program. In 2014, the School of Osteopathic Medicine honored Dr. Morris's legacy with the establishment of the William F. Morris OMM Scholarship for students. Dr. Morris retired from his positions as founding chair of OMM August 31, 2015, and Campbell faculty, staff, and students gathered for a reception honoring him and his legacy at CUSOM.

“Our hearts are grieved by his passing, and CUSOM is honored to have a fantastic OMM curriculum as part of his legacy here,” said John Kauffman, DO, Founding Dean of CUSOM. “Dr. Morris’s passion for osteopathic medicine and for teaching was immediately apparent the first time I spoke with him and was a constant throughout his career and tenure with CUSOM.”

Before joining CUSOM faculty, Dr. Morris was Course Director at A. T. Still University-School of Osteopathic Medicine in Arizona (ATSU-SOMA), Founding Chair of the Department of Osteopathic Principles and Practice at Touro College of Osteopathic Medicine-New York (TouroCOM-NY), and Chair of the Department of Osteopathic Principles and Practice at the University of Health Sciences College of Osteopathic Medicine in Kansas City. Additionally, through the course of his career, he taught at two other osteopathic medical schools: University of New England College of Osteopathic Medicine (UNECOM)—his alma mater—and at Oklahoma State University Center for Health Sciences College of Osteopathic Medicine (OSU-COM). He was a leader in osteopathic medicine throughout his career continually working with colleagues across the country and collaborating through AACOM to advance the teaching of osteopathic medicine.  As Chair of OMM, he had the opportunity to participate in the Educational Council on Osteopathic Principles (ECOP), and served as a Level II item-writer for the National Board of Osteopathic Medical Examiners (NBOME) for many years.

Dr. Morris is survived by his wife Dr. Carol Morris.

Passing of Benjamin L. Cohen, DO

It was with great sadness that the recent passing of Benjamin L. Cohen, DO, the founding dean of the University of Medicine and Dentistry of New Jersey-School of Osteopathic Medicine was announced. Dr. Cohen’s visionary leadership laid the foundation for the school, enabling it to become one of the nation’s leading osteopathic medical schools. His foresight led to the inclusion of geriatrics in the school’s curriculum, and the subsequent establishment of the New Jersey Institute for Successful Aging (NJISA) and the Department of Geriatrics and Gerontology.

Dr. Cohen was a pediatrician and served in several osteopathic leadership positions, notably as chair of AACOM’s Board of Deans. Dr. Cohen became Western University of Health Sciences (WesternU) Provost and Chief Operating Officer after serving as Interim Dean of WesternU College of Osteopathic Medicine of the Pacific (WesternU/COMP), and was the chief architect behind WesternU's 2007-11 expansion, establishing four new colleges; added an osteopathic medical campus in Oregon; and implemented a nationally recognized interprofessional education (IPE) program, among other accomplishments. Dr. Cohen was also Provost and Senior Vice President of Health Affairs at the University of North Texas Health Science Center in Fort Worth (UNTHSC). During his 12-year tenure at UNTHSC, Dr. Cohen presided over the growth of the UNTHSC Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine (UNTHSC/TCOM), and also formed an Alzheimer and aging institute, an eye Institute, and a college of public health.

Dr. Cohen was the recipient of numerous honors, including the Award for Outstanding Service from the New Jersey Society of Osteopathic Physicians and Surgeons, AACOM’s Robert A. Kistner Leadership Award, and was name an ‘Honorary Texan’ by the Texas House of Representatives. Dr. Cohen’s legacy will continue to touch the lives of osteopathic medical students, including through the Benjamin L, Cohen, DO, Pediatric Scholarship fund at WesternU—he will be missed.

Inside OME Header
November 2015
Vol. 9, No. 11

Campus Roundup