he American Osteopathic Foundation (AOF) held its 10th annual Honors celebration during the American Osteopathic Association (AOA)’s recent Osteopathic Medical Conference & Exposition (OMED) conference in Orlando, FL.

On the evening of Friday, October 16, the AOF honored the everyday heroes and recognized the best and brightest of the osteopathic profession through awards, grants, and scholarships at its Honors 2015 event. Welcoming more than 500 guests at the Hilton Orlando, the black-tie event celebrated the outstanding accomplishments of this year’s recipients with a cocktail reception, awards ceremony, dinner, and dancing—providing a festive environment for leaders, physicians, educators, and students to celebrate, mingle, and network.

Former AACOM OHPI Awarded 2015 William G. Anderson, DO, Minority Scholarship

Patricia I. Egwuatu, fourth-year DO student at the Pacific Northwest University of Health Sciences College of Osteopathic Medicine (PNWU-COM) and former AACOM osteopathic health policy intern (OHPI), was presented with the William G. Anderson, DO, Minority Scholarship during the AOF’s Honors 2015. With the 2015 Anderson Minority Scholarship, Patricia is recognized for her many accomplishments and potential to improve the health of minority populations.

As a first generation African American, Patricia has experienced firsthand the need to improve minority health care in the U.S. after family members immigrated here. She has served as the Health Disparities Director for SOMA and is the founder of the PWNU chapter for the Student National Medical Association (SNMA) and the Yakima Health Equity Forum, which aims to open dialogue in the school and community concerning inequities in health care delivery in underserved minority populations. Patricia also volunteers at the Tender Years Academy Center that provides health education programs to minority children and parents, and is working to publish Cervical Cancer in Africa to address the importance of research and advancement of women’s health.

The William G. Anderson, DO, Minority Scholarship was established to honor the distinguished professional and public career of William G. Anderson, DO, and highlights his life-long commitment to civil rights and osteopathic medicine. The scholarship recognizes an outstanding minority osteopathic medical student who is committed to osteopathic principals and practice, has excelled academically, and has proven to be a leader in addressing the educational, societal, and health needs of minorities.

Those feted at Honors 2015 include the following:

Lifetime Achievement Award
Murray Goldstein DO, MPH, RAD PHS (Ret)

Douglas E. Ward, PhD, Educator of the Year
J. Michael Finley, DO

Physician of the Year
Craig A. Dietz, DO, MPH

James M. Lally, DO, Emerging Leader Award
Daniel A. Clearfield, DO, MS

Student Awards

AOA Presidential Memorial Leadership Award
Julie Ann Creech, OMS III, Ohio University-Heritage College of Osteopathic Medicine (OU-HCOM)

William G. Anderson, DO, Minority Scholarship
Patricia I. Egwuatu, OMS IV, Pacific Northwest University of Health Sciences College of Osteopathic Medicine (PNWU-COM)

McCaughan Heritage Scholarship
Cameron E. Golightly, OMS IV, Edward Via College of Osteopathic Medicine-Carolinas Campus (VCOM-CC)

Nichols LEAD Scholar Award
Tanya Hioe, OMS III, Des Moines University College of Osteopathic Medicine (DMU-COM)

Burnett Osteopathic Student Researcher Award
Lauren N. Becker, OMS III, Edward Via College of Osteopathic Medicine – Virginia Campus (VCOM-VC)

Outstanding Resident of the Year Awards

New this year was the Outstanding Resident of the Year. AOF partnered with some of the specialty colleges and honored five recipients in five primary care specialties.

Outstanding Resident of the Year in Pediatric Medicine
Joanna L. Kramer, DO, MPH

Outstanding Resident of the Year in Internal Medicine
John Raymond Dahdah, DO

Outstanding Resident of the Year in Family Medicine
Philip M. Eskew, DO, JD, MBA

Outstanding Resident of the Year in Obstetrics & Gynecological Medicine
Molly E. Ashby, DO, MPH

Outstanding Resident of the Year in Emergency Medicine
Andrew G. Little, DO

WesternU/COMP Associate Dean Named Educator of the Year

The American Osteopathic Foundation (AOF) has named Western Univeristy of Health Sciences/College of Osteopathic Medicine of the Pacific (WesternU/COMP) Associate Dean for Graduate Medical Education J. Michael Finley, DO, as the recipient of the 2015 W. Douglas Ward, PhD, Educator of the Year Award. Dr. Finley was selected for his impact on graduate medical education (GME) opportunities for osteopathic residents, and his dedication to promoting the osteopathic profession.

As passionate educator committed to osteopathic medicine, Dr. Finley oversees GME for the Western region of the United States as the Chief Academic Officer for the OPTI-West Educational Consortium. He has mentored hundreds of students and residents at WesternU/COMP. Among his many accomplishments, those he has established more than 45 new residency programs—totaling 540 positions—where they didn’t exist before, and making an impact on communities and careers.

For more information, visit the AOF website.

Inside OME Header
October 2015
Vol. 9, No. 10